Moyes Repeat Fritz/Dietzen Winner; Rose, Swinford and Edsall Claim Victories

It took Tennessee driver David Moyes III half of the Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen to get to the front, but once there he held off John Robbins to record his second consecutive win.

Moyes was the fast qualifier and started the 100-lap feature in the tenth position and moved into the top five after only 14 laps.

Chris Weddle took the lead at the start and held a pack of the fast qualifiers behind him for the first half of the race. But it was Moyes that was on the move, on lap 34 he passed John Robbins for the fourth spot and four laps later he got inside of James Edsall III for third.

On lap 51 Moyes got inside of Weddle entering Turn three to take the lead. After opening a sizeable lead Moyes watched Robbins close over the final 20 laps.

Lapped traffic allowed Robbins to close to Moyes rear bumper but a caution with eight laps remaining when Tony Holden spun. On the restart Moyes pulled away for the victory followed by Robbins, Kyle Baugh, Weddle and Bryan Nuckles.

“I tried to patient the first 50 laps,” Moyes said. “It seemed to work out. With the lapped traffic I thought it was going to be a repeat of two years ago when I was passed with less than ten laps remaining.”

The race was slowed by five caution flags for a total of 24 laps.

Anderson’s Ronnie Rose followed up his victory of last week in the Champion Racing Association Street Stock feature by making it two wins in a row.

Rose chased leader Bret Miles for the first 18 laps and then got inside coming off the fourth corner. For the next two circuits Miles and Rose raced side by side before Rose got the advantage coming off Turn two.

Rose led to the finish with Miles and Rich Boyer rounding out the top three. Bruce McFall and fast qualifier Randy Hoppes completed the top five.

“He (Miles) gave me a little room and we raced real clean,” Rose said.

Street Stock heat wins went to Muncie’s Bret Miles and Indianapolis driver Tracy Frye, driving a new car for the first time.

After some bumping and banging on two restarts between Doug Riddle, Jeff Swinford and Johnny Magee the ImmediaDent Figure-8 feature finally got started. Riddle and Swinford made contact on the opening lap in what appeared to be a racing incident with the end result both drivers stopped against the Turn 3 outside retaining wall. On the restart Riddle was spun in Turn one by Swinford’s teammate Magee.

Swinford took the lead at the start and gradually opened a sizeable lead with Magee, Riddle, Shawn Cullen. and Mike Riddle Jr. battling for the second spot.

By the halfway point the field was sorted out with Magee and Cullen pulling away from Doug Riddle, who was also passed by Mike Riddle Jr.

That lead disappeared on lap 14 when it appeared the car of Elliott McKinney stalled at the crossover. Magee suffered a flat left front tire on the restart

From there Swinford went on to take the victory followed by Cullen, Mike Riddle Jr., Doug Riddle and Rickie Tharp.

ImmediaDent Figure-8 heat winners were Mike Riddle Jr., Greenwood, recording his fourth heat victory of the year and Anderson’s Rickie Tharp drove to his third heat win of the season.

James Edsall III used the outside line to pass leader Nate Shrout through the third and fourth corners on lap 18 and led the final 32 laps to capture the Thunder Roadsters feature.

Edsall battled side by side with fast qualifier Al Renner for the second spot for three laps before completing the pass and setting his sights on Shrout.

Doug Dugger and Darrell Brown passed Renner with ten laps remaining with Shrout rounding out the top five.

Larry Fritz was eliminated from competition on lap 23 when he made contact with Brown on the back straight and made contact with the outside retaining wall. Fritz was running fifth at the time.

Next Saturday is the Night of Thrills at Anderson Speedway highlighted by the return of the International Outlaw Figure-8 Series, which will include the first IOFS sanctioned Figure-8 racing for winged front wheel drive cars. Included on the night’s program is the popular School Bus and Culver’s Trailer Figure-8 events. Racing action starts at 8 p.m.