Beaver Captures CRA FWD Compact Feature; Rose, Cullen Also Record Wins

Noblesville veteran driver Joe Beaver showed how to weave through traffic to capture the Champion Racing Association Compact feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Beaver, who sent the fast time, started 27th in the 32-car field and moved to the front on lap 14 with an outside move on Jordan Flynn on a restart. Mark Mason, who posted the second quick time, was glued to Beaver’s rear bumper for much of the race.

But Beaver used the low line several times to pass lapped traffic making it three-wide through the corners and was able to pull away from Mason.

“It was a real nice car,” Beaver said. “They asked me to run it last weekend and I said why not.”
The race was slowed one time when Ron Phipps made contact with the outside retaining wall in Turn two and lost a tire on the 13th lap.

Justin Brown, Tim Dilg and Bill Leisure rounded out the top five. At the finish of the 50-lap event there were only four cars on the lead lap.

CRA Vore’s Welding Compacts heat wins went to Tim Dilg, Mark Dulworth and Jeff Williams.

Anderson’s Ronnie Rose used the inside line to take the lead from Jacob McElfresh on lap 12 and then held on to capture the win in a three-way battle to the checkers. McElfresh and Danny Acrey II closed on Rose following a final restart with four laps remaining. Rose said he lost the brakes in his Street Stock but was able to record his second consecutive win.

Acrey recovered from a spin on lap six to make his way back through the field to record the third place finish. Fast qualifier Rich Boyer suffered a flat right front tire on lap 19 when he attempted to get inside of Rose coming off the second corner.

Point’s leader Bret Miles experienced an overheating problem with four laps to go but was able to hang on for a fifth place finish, one lap down.

New Castle’s Acrey led from start to finish to capture the win in the first heat for the Street Stock Division followed by Rob Allman and Boyer. It was Acrey’s fifth heat win of the season.

Markleville’s Randy Hoppes recorded his second heat win of the year when Kyle Flynn’s mount caught fire after the Sulphur Springs took the lead three laps into the race from Kevin Rudisill. Hoppes was followed to the checkers by Donny Harmon and Rudisill.
Shawn Cullen took the lead on lap 18 with an inside pass of Mike Riddle Jr. and went on to record the victory in the ImmediaDent Figure-8 feature. Riddle held on to second with Jeff Swinford and Josh Tharp rounding out the top four.

Riddle opened a lead early in the race but at the midway point Cullen, Swinford and Tharp all closed on the leader. It was a four-way battle for the lead until Cullen took command of the race.

“The car ran good all night,” Cullen said. “We tore it up last weekend at Winchester (Speedway) and the team got the car pretty close.

Rickie Tharp captured his third heat win of the season capturing the opening heat for the ImmediaDent Figure-8 division leading the entire way but was pressured over the final circuits by Johnny Magee. Mike Riddle Jr. held off fast qualifier Josh Tharp in a spirited battle for the third spot.

Jeff Swinford took home his fourth checkered flag in capturing the second heat followed by Shawn Cullen and Ranny Hinton Sr. rounding out the top three.

The Champion Racing Association Sportsman make their third and final appearance of the season at Anderson Speedway next Saturday for a 75-lap feature event. Joining the Sportsman on the racing card is the Street Stocks, WMDH Thunder Cars and the Front Wheel Drive division in figure-8 competition. Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing starting at 8 p.m.