IOFS Outlaw Figure 8's Return on Saturday with USAC National Midgets Invading Anderson on Sunday

Anderson Speedway continues its exciting start to the 2010 season with a big doubleheader weekend of racing slated for Saturday, April 10 and Sunday, April 11.

On Saturday night, the IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s will be the showcase event with a 50-lap feature starring a strong group of competitors in their ultra fast Figure 8 Outlaw machines. A huge field that is expected to compete is headlined by 2009 National Champion, Doug Greig. Other expected entries include: Charlie Hargraves, Johny Hargraves, Richard Dickens, Jeff Hizer, Rich Fenwick, Butch Winters, Gary Bedell, Chris Green, Jon Lord, Dane Laster, Corey Turner, Danny Smith, Jeff Swinford, and IOFS newcomers Andy Shirley and Chuckie Hargraves.

In 30 years of Outlaw Figure 8 racing multiple drivers have scored wins including: R.J. Norton Jr., Kenny St. John, Bob Fields, Jim Fox, Tom Gossar, Darwin Blankenship, Billy Simmons, Bruce Tunney, Joe McKinney, Dick Hinshaw, Gene Huston, Gene Cook, Mike St. John, Greig, Jack Dossey Jr., Rodney Sizemore, Charlie Hargraves, and Rich Fenwick.

The IOFS Front Wheel Drive division debuted in 2009 with Rickie Tharp being crowned the inaugural champion. Tharp is expected to be on hand in an attempt to defend his 2009 IOFS FWD title along with a full field of cars including many out of town drivers.

Other divisions in action on Saturday night include the WDMH ThunderCars, who make a first season appearance and the second showing from the Street Stocks and Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s.

On Saturday, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

The USAC National Midgets roll into Anderson Speedway on Sunday for their first asphalt event of the season. This marks the only appearance at the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval in the 2010 season.

This Sunday’s 100-lap USAC Mopar National Midget race continues a rich tradition of USAC racing at the popular quarter-mile banked paved oval. A special practice session is scheduled from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday for participants to test and tune in preparation for Sunday’s event.

Brad Sweet carries a 31-point lead over Bobby East into Sunday’s race after posting top-five finishes in the initial four races on the schedule, including two victories. East won at Perris, Calif. in February and has added a pair of seconds.

Darren Hagen is the only other driver to finish all four 2010 races in the “top-10.” His best finish so far was a fourth at Las Vegas, Nev. in February.

East won USAC’s only National race at Anderson in 2009, the Glen Niebel Classic Sprint race. He is tied with Tate Martz as the winningest drivers in USAC history at the storied oval, each with seven victories. Caleb Armstrong of New Castle, Ind. has six USAC wins at Anderson.

Tracy Hines of New Castle, Ind., currently third in the National standings, won the last USAC National Midget race at Anderson, a 100-lapper in 2008.

Local divisions showcased on Sunday include the Front Wheel Drive Oval division and brand new Pure Stocks.

On Sunday, spectator gates open at 11:15 a.m. with the racing beginning at 2. Admission is $15 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.