Phipps Perfects in Figure 8 Competition; Harmon Scores Front Wheel Drive Win
Anderson driver Rod Phipps is perfect in the Figure-8 Division at Anderson Speedway scoring his second consecutive win on Saturday.

Phipps led all 25 laps, but behind the leader was a dandy three-car battle for the second position between Curtis Chapman, Johnny Magee and Dale Phillips.

Although the positions never swapped during the feature event Chapman, Magee and Phillips raced in lock step each waiting for the other to make a mistake.

“We had the car dialed in,” Phipps said after his win. “This is a good way to start the year.”

In the heat race Jason Pitts took the early lead chased by Bruce McFall and Johnny Magee in the early going. On lap five Chapman and Phipps slipped inside of McFall to grab the fourth and fifth positions.

Magee took the lead on the sixth circuit and was chased to the finish by Pitts and Phillips.

In the Front Wheel Drive division fast qualifier Kevin Harmon and teammate Chris Teepe turned in a dominating performance in the feature event.

Harmon led from the start with Teepe slipping into the second position on the second lap and the two set sail. The duo was never seriously challenged as the feature went caution free.

Harmon beat Teepe by .453 second with Gary Bragg Sr. coming home in third more than 12 seconds behind the winner. Fellow Mad Cow Racing driver Frank Gasho finished fourth followed by Elliott McKinney.

Bragg Sr. was the driver on the move passing Aaron Jones on lap five to take over the fifth spot and within ten laps has claimed the third position.

Teepe collected his second heat win of the year in the first race taking the point on the final lap with an inside pass of Harmon.

Robert Kelm took the early lead from Paul Phipps and remained out front until Harmon and Teepe were able to get underneath coming off the fourth corner and made the pass of Kelm on the front straight.

Bragg Sr. recorded his second heat win of the year in the second heat race passing Jones on the back straight on the seventh circuit. Gary Bragg Jr. worked his way through the field and into the second spot when he suffered a flat right front tire on the eighth lap.