Bragg Scores Two Victories During United States Air Force Night of Thrills; Warner, Grissom, Peterson, Noel and Tharp Also Visit Winner's Circle
Kokomo driver Gary Bragg Jr. battled for several laps with Ryan Amonett before finally making the high side work to take the lead with four laps remaining to win the Front Wheel Drive feature at Anderson Speedway on Friday.

The United States Air Force sponsored the first of four Night of Thrills at Anderson Speedway which included School Bus Figure 8’s, a Cork Screw Race and the Culver’s Trailer race.

Amonett took the early lead and opened a sizeable lead while Bragg worked his way through the field. At the halfway point Bragg moved up to the second spot and was turning the fastest laps of the race as he closed on the leader.

For several laps Bragg attempted to get inside of Amonett, who held the low line to maintain the lead. Bragg moved to the outside on the 16th lap to take the lead on the front straight and went on to record his first win of the year. Amonett came home in second followed by Josh Tharp, Nick Warner and Jared Keller.

“I didn’t think I would catch him,” Bragg said of Amonett. “That was good side-by-side racing. That’s the way it’s supposed to be, clean racing and with give and take.”

Rob Noel caught Kenny Bickford on the final lap and used the high groove to capture the Pure Stock feature. Bickford jumped out to the early lead but was passed by Noel on the 10th of 20 circuits. Bickford charged back to take the lead on lap 13 but was unable to keep Noel at bay and settled for second place.

Roxanne Grissom won the Power Puff School Bus Figure 8 with Teresa Dowden passing Chrissy Tharp on the final turn and then held on at the finish line to grab the second position.

Nick Warner captured the Cork Screw race leading all 10 laps and lapping the entire field with Mike Alley claiming the second position.

Tony Peterson won the Roll Over Contest by making three runs at the ramp for a total of 3-½ rolls. There was a tie for second place with Mike Alley and Bozo Farley each recording 1-½ roll-overs. Nick Warner completed a half roll and Craig Enterkin failed to complete a rollover during the competition.

Josh Tharp took the lead from Randy Owen in traffic on lap eight to win the School Bus Figure-8 event.

Bragg captured the Culver’s trailer race after his main competitor Harry Lashure got bogged down in the crossover and then was collected in turn one ending his night.

Racing resumes tonight at Anderson Speedway with action in the Street Stocks, Figure 8, Front Wheel Drive division off the high banks and on the Figure 8 track. Gates open at 5 p.m. and racing starts at 8 p.m.