Rickie Tharp Wins Wild FWD Figure 8
Rickie Tharp had to work hard to score the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 victory last weekend at Anderson Speedway, as there was plenty of tight racing throughout the field.

Donnie Ellis Jr. chased by Rickie Tharp, defending champion Nick Warner, Josh Tharp and Jeff Herbert, took the early lead.

For nine laps the running orders only change was Randy Owen moving around Herbert for the fifth position, but then things got interesting.

Rickie Tharp started trying to use the outside line to get around Ellis starting with the tenth circuit with no success. Finally with one lap remaining he was able to complete the pass on the front straight of the Figure-8 course.

The two drivers made contact on the final lap but Tharp was able to continue on for the win, but Ellis lost two positions to Warner and Josh Tharp with Owen coming home in fifth.

Josh Tharp led the entire distance to capture the first heat win for the division followed by Rickie Tharp and Owen.

In the second heat race Warner led from the start but was pressed by Ellis and Matt Tharp for most of the distance after the two slipped past Harry LaShure.