Phipps Gets ThunderCar Victory; Dane, Warner Get Front Wheel Drive Wins at Anderson
cnhi news service

Rod Phipps took the lead from Sam Folsom and then held off fast qualifier Rob Wyman Sr. for most of the race to win the WMDH Thunder Car feature at Anderson Speedway Friday.

Phipps maintained the low line which kept Wyman and Rob Allman at bay. That changed on lap 21 when Wyman went low entering turn one and was tapped by Allman. Wyman spun and Allman suffered a flat right front tire.

Hannah Lundy finished second and Wyman recovered to run from fifth to third in the final four laps with Folsom and Ron Adams rounding out the top five.

Noblesville driver Jerry Dane passed teammate Frank Gasho on the final lap entering turn one and went on to win the Front Wheel Drive oval feature.

There was a good battle for the third position between Gary Bragg Sr., Chris Teepe, Gary Bragg Jr. and Chris Teepe. Teepe went from fifth with five laps remaining to grab third followed by Bragg Jr. and Sr.

Nick Warner won a wild Front Wheel Drive division Figure-8 race after plenty of action on lap 11.

Donnie Ellis Jr. was leading the race and was being challenged by Josh Tharp entering turn one. With a lapped car pinched low, Tharp escaped through the pit exit and entering turn one Ellis, Rickie Tharp and Warner all tangled.

Ellis and the Tharp brothers were sent to the tail which gave the lead to Warner, who went to win followed by Elliott McKinney and Rickie Tharp.

Tickets are available for the historic 62nd Pay Less Little 500 at $27 for reserved seating. For more information, contact the Anderson Speedway Ticket Office at (765) 642-0206.