Five Former Champions Set for 62nd Pay Less Little 500 on Saturday Night
Five former champions and a talented list of challengers are set for the largest purse ever in the 62nd Pay Less Little 500 at Anderson Speedway on Saturday Night, May 29. Over $123,000 will be up for grabs in the richest asphalt Sprint Car race in the country.

The former winners of the prestigious Pay Less Little 500 that are returning this year are led by eight-time winner Eric Gordon, who has won six of the last nine events. Other previous champions that have filed entries include Kokomo’s Shane Cottle (2008) Brian Tyler (2007), three-time Pay Less Little 500 champion Jeff Bloom (1972, 77, 91) and 1999 winner Chet Fillip.

Other notable drivers that plan on competing include 2006 pole winner Aaron Pierce, who has been runner-up twice to Gordon in 2004 and 2007. Canada’s Ryan Litt has produced two consecutive top five-finishes with a best of fourth in 2008. Donnie Adams Jr. finished in third position in last year’s event and captured his first pole position in 2007.

Warsaw’s Tony Elliott will compete in his 17th Little 500. Elliott has notched six top-five finishes with a best finish of second occurring during the 2008 event. 2004 race runner-up Tim Cox will make his seventh start. Three-time USAC Sprint Car Champion Levi Jones returns after a five year hiatus in the Tony Stewart Racing sprinter. He finished eighth in 2005. Florida’s Troy Decaire will attempt to make his fifth appearance in the Little 500 and to date his best performance took place in 2007 when he finished in eighth position.

Tony Hunt, of Lincoln, Calif., a five-time champion in the USAC returns this year for his eighth Little 500 appearance. He has produced three top-five performances with a best showing of second in 2004. Former Rookies of the Year Russ Gamester, Brandon Whited and JoJo Helberg are also expected to be part of the Pay Less Little 500.

First round qualifications for the 62nd Pay Less Little 500 will take place on Thursday, May 27, beginning at 1:30 p.m. with the 33-car field set during second round of qualifications on Friday afternoon. On Saturday, May 29, the 62nd Pay Less Little 500 green flag waves shortly after 8 p.m.

Tickets are available for the historic 62nd Pay Less Little 500 at $27 for reserved seating. For more information, contact the Anderson Speedway Ticket Office at (765) 642-0206.