Boyer Claims Street Stock Victory; Phipps, Robbins, Edsall Also Collect Wins
Anderson’s Rich Boyer battled a loose race car but went on to capture his second Street Stock feature victory at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Boyer, starting from the pole after half the field was inverted, moved inside Nick Moore on the second lap down the back straight and held on for the victory.

With Boyer out front there was plenty of scrambling for position between five drivers for the second position. For four laps Josh Poore and Rob Allman swapped the fifth position.

Josh Myers got inside of second place running Moore entering turn one on lap 29 and two laps later the only caution flag waved when Allman went to make an outside pass of Jeff Perry down the back straight.

Perry spun and came to rest against the outside turn three wall with Allman sent to the tail of the field.

Myers was closing on Boyer at the finish but came up .6 seconds short. Moore held off Poore for third with Allman recovering to finish fifth.

“The car was loose tonight,” Boyer said. “If someone would have bumped us, we would have went around. I just tried to run as hard as I could.”

Anderson’s Rod Phipps led all 25 laps to capture the Figure-8 Division victory but Jason Pitts, Jeff Swinford, Nick Warner and Curtis Chapman battling for position.

Fireworks broke out on lap 20 when Chapman tapped the back of Swinford in turn three while battling for the fourth position. Swinford tried to tag Chapman during the caution in the cross over. Swinford missed Chapman and made contact with Warner.

Swinford was sent to the pits and Chapman restarted on the tail of the field. Someone jumped into Swinford’s car and returned to the track to slam into the back of Chapman’s car before the race was restarted.

Following the caution Phipps held Jason Pitts and Nick Warner.

Elwood’s John Robbins and Ohio driver Bryan Nuckles battled side by side for six laps before Robbins was able to get the advantage with an inside move coming off the fourth corner on the 19th lap and went on to win the Legend division feature.

James Edsall III took the early lead with Nuckles and Robbins moving into the second and third position after six laps. On lap 11 and 12 the two were able to get inside of Edsall in turn three and four which set up the battle for the win.

“It was a fun race,” Robbins said. “We always race hard together and I was able to bring it home.”

Edsall came back to lead all 25 laps of the Thunder Roadster feature to score the win followed by Al Renner and Chris Weddle. Edsall set a new track record for the division with a lap of 13.491 seconds.

For additional information call (765) 642-0206.