Wyman Scores ThunderCar Win
Muncie driver Rob Wyman Sr. continued his hot streak with the feature win Saturday at Anderson Speedway in the WMDH Thunder Car division.

Shawn Cullen jumped into the lead and was chased by Wyman and Rod Phipps in a three-car break away from the rest of the field.

A determined Wyman looked high and low to find a way around Cullen with no success until there was three laps remaining.

Wyman grabbed the low line coming off the fourth corner and was able to slip past Cullen for the lead and the victory.

Wyman won by two-tenths of a second over Cullen with Phipps finishing third.

There was a good battle for most of the feature for the fourth position between Sam Folsom, Hannah Lundy and Phil Jenkins. Folsom eventually won out for the fourth spot followed by Lundy, Jenkins faded and finished tenth.

"I was biding my time," Wyman said of the early stages of the race. "There was clean racing, which is always the case with Shawn (Cullen) and Rod (Phipps).

Lundy recorded her second heat win of the year finishing a fender ahead of Wyman at the checkers in a spirited heat race.

Lundy took the lead at the start with Wyman and Cullen in hot
pursuit. Cullen claimed the second spot on the third circuit with a pass of Wyman on the front straight. The two drivers raced side-by-side with Wyman edging pass Cullen on the next circuit on the front straight.

From there Wyman closed on Lundy coming up .036 seconds back in second and Cullen another 0.236 seconds behind in third. Bruce McFall and Earl Adams II rounded out the top five.

Sam Folsom led the entire distance to win the second heat race but there was plenty of action behind him.

Jenkins moved into the second position after four laps with an outside move on Frankie Oaks in turn four. Phipps passed Oakes on lap five on the front straight and then moved into second by slipping inside Jenkins in turn three.

Folsom went on to win by 1.8 seconds over Phipps with Jenkins rounding out the top three. Rodney Milliner passed Oakes for fourth on the ninth lap.