Two Big Nights of Racing; Figure 8 Madness & Huge Fireworks Show on Fourth of July
Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, July 3 with ThunderCars, Front Wheel Drives Oval, Legends, Pure Stocks along with Bandoleros and Thunder Roadsters.

Rob Wyman Sr. earned the most recent victory in the ThunderCar division to extend his points lead to 12 markers over Rod Phipps. Third is Sam Folsom with Hannah Lundy and Shawn Cullen completing the top five.

Points leader Gary Bragg Jr. is also the most recent feature winner in the Front Wheel Drive Oval division. He holds a slim 26 point margin over his father, Gary Bragg Sr. Third in the points rundown is former division champion Chris Teepe with Frank Gasho and Jerry Dane filling out the top five.

The Legends, Pure Stocks, Banoleros and Thunder Roadsters will also be showcased in the exciting racing lineup.

Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. on Saturday with racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

On Sunday, July 4th, Anderson Speedway will host its popular Figure 8 Madness program that will conclude with a huge fireworks show. The racing lineup features IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s, School Bus Figure 8’s, Anderson Speedway Figure 8’s, Trailer Race and Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s

Knightstown driver Jeff Shackelford took advantage of a slip by leader John Hargraves on a restart with 17 laps remaining and went on to capture the International Outlaw Figure 8 season opener at Anderson Speedway on April 10.

Rod Phipps paces the Figure 8 point standings with a 138 point advantage over Curtis Chapman. Third in the standings is Jason Pitts with Bruce McFall and Jeff Swinford rounding out the top five.

The School Bus Figure 8’s will make their second appearance at Anderson Speedway. Josh Tharp earned the most recent victory during the Night of Thrills in April. The Trailer Race will also make a second season appearance. Gary Bragg Jr. was the April winner.

In the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s, Rickie Tharp and Nick Warner have been the dominant drivers in the division and are tied for first position. Josh Tharp is third with Elliott McKinney and Harry Lashure completing the top five.

Spectator gates open at 4 p.m. on Sunday with racing beginning at 7. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.