Robbins Scores Second Legends Win; Wyman, Bragg, Brown Get Victories
Elwood’s John Robbins saw a big lead wiped out by a caution, but then was able to pull away from Bryan Nuckles and Taylor Webb to score the Legends feature win at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

With the fastest six drivers inverted, Eric Black took the early lead with Robbins running third at the start. Robbins passed Doug Dugger on the fourth lap by using the low line in turn one.

From there Robbins closed on Black and was able to make the pass exiting turn two after eight laps. Robbins started to pull away from the pack when James Edsall III lost an engine entering turn one on lap nine.

On the restart Black slipped in turn four which allowed Nuckles to grab the second spot. Fast qualifier Webb passed Black on lap 15 to move into third and challenged Nuckles but was unable to make the pass.

At the checkers Robbins won by .77 seconds over Nuckles, Webb, Kyle Baugh and Black.

“The car came to life after the caution,” Robbins said of his second consecutive win in the division.

Muncie driver Rob Wyman Jr. used slower traffic to his advantage over the final ten laps of the WMDH Thunder Car feature to hold off Nick Warner for his third win of the year and second in a row.

Wyman set fast time during qualifications and jumped into the lead at the start but he was pressed by Warner, who appeared to have the faster car. With Warner pushing him down the front and back straights, Wyman was able to maintain the lead by using the lapped traffic as a pick.

Warner finished second followed by Hannah Lundy, Rod Phipps and Rodney Milliner.

“I dropped a cylinder and did what I had to do,” Wyman said. “Nick (Warner) did what he had to do.”

Chris Teepe was awarded the victory in the Front Wheel Drive Oval feature. The former division champion crossed the finish line in second spot but advanced to a first finishing position after Gary Bragg Jr. was disqualified. Top five finishers Gary Bragg Sr. and Frank Gasho were also disqualified.

Mike Alley moved up to second position with Brad Bell in third position. Kevin Henson and Trevor Henson completed the top five finishers.

Darrell Brown scored his first ever feature win in the Thunder Roadster Division but had to hold off a charging James Edsall III over the final ten laps.

Edsall moved into the third spot after ten laps with an outside pass of Chris Weddle through turn three and then made an inside pass of Nate Shrout down the back straight to claim the second spot.

Edsall closed on Brown, but he slipped in turn two on the white flag lap and came up .167 seconds short. Weddle, Shrout and Al Renner rounded out the top five.

There will be figure-8 madness at the track tonight with the International Outlaw Figure 8 Series returning, the local Figure-8 division, Front Wheel Drive figure-8, school bus figure-8 and the Culver’s Trailer Race Figure-8. Racing starts at 7 p.m. followed by the annual July 4 fireworks display.