61st Best Way Disposal National Crown
Set for Saturday Night
The longest continuous stock car race will be contested at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, July 17, when the 61st Best Way Disposal National Crown will showcase the competitors from the Figure 8 division. The racing program will also include appearances from the Motion Motors Late Models and Front Wheel Drive Oval division.

The Best Way Disposal National Crown is the longest running continuous stock car race in America. The winner’s list is a who’s who of Figure 8 racing. Last year, Rod Phipps earned his third victory in the historic event. Recent winners of the National Crown include Rod Phipps (1999, 2007, 2009), Nick Warner (2008), Mike Riddle Jr. (2005), Ronnie Rose (2004), Ronnie Phipps (1998, 2003), Mark Goettman (2002) and Curtis Chapman (2001).

Rod Phipps holds a comfortable 153 points lead in the Figure 8 point standings over Curtis Chapman with Jason Pitts ranked in third. Bruce McFall and Danny Stanley Jr. round out the top five performers in the Figure 8 division.

In the Front Wheel Drives Oval division, Chris Teepe advanced to the first position after winning the most recent event on July 3. Gary Bragg Jr. and Gary Bragg Sr. dropped from the top two positions after electing to skip post race technical inspection following the feature and now rank second and third. Frank Gasho and Jerry Dane complete the top five in the points rundown.

The Motion Motor Late Models that compete on a regular basis at Mt. Lawn Speedway will make their first showing at Anderson Speedway.

Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. on Saturday with racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.