HOWE CRA Late Model Sportsman Set for Final Season Appearance on Saturday
The Howe CRA Late Model Sportsman Series will return to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, July 31 for the final appearance of the 2010 season. The WMDH ThunderCars, Street Stocks and Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s will also be in action on Saturday night.

In the initial HOWE CRA Late Model Sportsman event of 2010 at Anderson on May 15, Fort Wayne driver Al Cook Jr. held off a determined pack of cars with five laps remaining to claim the victory. Cook led the entire distance and held off 2006 series Champion Keith Sterkowitz for the final 32 laps. In the second series event on June 26, Charlie Hanna got the lead after contact between leader Joe Beaver and second running Wes Russell Jr. caused a yellow sending both cars to the rear on lap 43. The 2009 series Champion then cruised to the win while Mark Lambert made an outside pass of John Heck on the white flag lap to claim second.

Hanna comes into Saturday’s event with a 39 point lead over Jason Atkinson. Third is Sterkowitz, 21 points behind Atkinson. Fourth is Cook, 19 points behind Sterkowitz. Rounding out the top five is Lambert, 27 points behind Cook. So far this season the series has had six different winners in six events. Rick Rinehart is most recent winner at Winchester Speedway on July 18. Other winners include Cook and Hanna at Anderson, Sterkowitz at Plymouth Speedway, Steve Minich Jr. at Angola Motor Speedway and Eric Evans at Mt. Lawn Speedway.

In the Street Stock division, Rob Allman holds a 17 point lead over Rich Boyer, the most recent division feature winner. The remainder of the top five includes Derrick Layne, Randy Hoppes and Todd Marsh.

Rob Wyman Sr. continues to sit atop the WMDH ThunderCar point standings with a 70 point margin over Rod Phipps. Third is Hannah Lundy with Sam Folsom and Early Adams lll completing the top five.

Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 champion Nick Warner holds a 47 point advantage over Rickie Tharp in the point standings. Third is Josh Tharp with Elliott McKinney and Harry Lashure completing the top five.

Spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. on Saturday with racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.