First Timer Winners on Saturday Night
It was a night of first time winners at Anderson Speedway with three drivers in different divisions all getting their first feature wins. Brett Robinson got his initial win with the CRA Howe Late Model Sportsman, Nick Moore in the Street Stock Division and Hannah Lundy in WMDH Thunder Car action

Brett Robinson inherited the lead when the three leaders took themselves out of contention and led the final 35 laps to win the CRA Howe Late Model Sportsman 75-lap feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Joe Beaver was leading on lap 39 when second place running Keith Sterkowitz dipped inside coming off the second corner. The two made contact with Beaver spinning and third place running Scott Neal getting collected.

Robinson held off Charlie Hanna on two restarts to record his first career win with the series.
“It was a real good race,” Robinson said.

John Heck took the early lead chased by Beaver and Rick Rinehart. Heck stayed on the point until lap seven when Terry Cater got into the back of his Chevrolet, causing Heck to spin in turn four. Both drivers were sent to the tail of the field.

The race was slowed 11 times by caution flags, but only one over the final half of the race.

Indianapolis driver Nick Moore recorded his first two wins of the 2010 season winning a heat race and then leading all 40 laps of the Street Stock feature.

Moore was able to pull away from Josh Poore following a caution with six laps remaining to record the victory followed by Poore, Jeff Perry, Rob Allman and Rich Boyer.

“This is our first year doing this,” Moore said in victory lane. “We’re learning.”

The best action on the track was between Perry, Allman and Boyer as they battled for the third position with ten laps remaining. Allman was able to get inside of Perry with the two swapping the position several times with Boyer waiting for either driver to make a mistake.

Alexandria Hannah Lundy led all 25 laps to win her first WMDH Thunder Car feature, but had to hold off Rod Phipps on the final lap by .060 seconds.

Lapped traffic almost cost Lundy her first victory as Phipps pulled away from Nick Warner to claim the second position and started to close on Lundy.

“It felt great,“ Lundy said after the win. She climbed on the roof of her Chevrolet to celebrate the victory.

WMDH ThunderCar points leader Rob Wyman Sr. of Muncie heavily damaged his race car during practice when the throttle stuck entering turn one and he made heavy contact with the right front of the car with the outside retaining wall.

Entering the night Wyman had a 70 point lead over Rod Phipps. Whyman had set fast time five times, won two heat and had three feature victories.

Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 point’s leader Nick Warner didn’t complete a single lap in the feature making heavy contact with the turn one wall. Warner had set a new track record during qualifying.

Rickie Tharp took the lead on the third lap wit an outside pass of Bill Leisure on the back straight when wildness took place on the race track.

First the car of Trevon Henson took a glancing blow from Elliott McKinney in the crossover while Matt Tharp and Donnie Ellis Jr. exchanged paint through turns three and four.
Rickie Tharp went on to record the victory followed by Josh Tharp and McKinney.

Next week the UMRA Midgets make their only appearance of the season at Anderson Speedway along with Figure-8 Division, Front Wheel Drive Oval, Pure Stocks, Legends and Bandoleros. Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing starting at 8 p.m.