Tharp Slices Through Traffic, Holds Off Teepe for FWD Win
Although Rickie Tharp led all 20 laps to capture the Front Wheel Drive oval feature on Saturday, he had to slice his way through lapped traffic over the final laps to hold off a closing Chris Teepe.

Tharp took the lead at the start chased by Brad Bell, Paul Phipps, Teepe and Jerry Dane.

Dane spun on the second lap in turn two which allowed Gary Bragg Sr., returning to Anderson Speedway to take over the fifth position.

Two laps later Ron Phipps got inside of Bragg entering turn one as Bell slid back in the field. On lap seven Bragg spun into the infield after a tap from Paul Phipps.

Meanwhile Teepe, now running second, started to close the
distance on Tharp. As the two encountered lapped traffic.

Tharp was able to slip between lapped cars or used the inside and outside grooves to maintain his edge on Teepe.

At the checkers Tharp recorded the victory with Teepe only .29 seconds behind. Jeff Williams, Ron Phipps and Jerry Dane rounded out the top five.

In the first heat race Williams made an outside pass of Ron Phipps on the front straight on lap six to take the lead and record the victory.

Ron Phipps finished second followed by Dane.

New Castle's Keith Morris led from start to finish to record the win in the second heat but there was plenty of passing in the pack.

Bragg got inside of Tharp coming off the fourth corner to claim the second position on the fifth lap and three laps later Teepe used the high line to pass Tharp on the front straight to take the third position. Tharp finished fourth followed by John Davis Jr.

Williams set fast time during qualifying followed by Teepe and Dane.