Moyes Claims Fritz/Dietzen Three-Peat; Miles, Phipps, Edsall Get Victories at Anderson
Tennessee driver David Moyes III continued his dominance in the Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial for the Legends division by recording his third consecutive win Saturday at Anderson Speedway.

Moyes, who set fast time during qualifications, ran in the tire tracks of Travis Braden for most of the middle stages of the race and when lapped traffic presented him with the opportunity, he powered into the lead.

With Braden and Moyes closing on the lapped car of Nick Wilson, the two leaders split Wilson entering turn three on lap 68. Moyes went low and Braden used the high line, but it was Moyes exiting the corner in the lead.

At the finish it was Moyes winning by less than a straight away with Braden, Robbins, Andrea Hans and Chris Weddle rounding out the top five.

Kentucky driver Ben Rhodes lead the first three laps when he was passed by Elwood’s John Robbins on lap four with an inside move coming off the fourth corner.

Robbins led until lap 24 when Braden and Moyes slipped inside entering the turn three. From that point Braden and Moyes pulled away from the remainder of the field.

There were two multi-car crashes in the first 30 laps of the event. The first was caused when Taylor Webb lost an engine entering turn one on lap 15 and collected the cars of Ben Rhodes, Shelby Campbell and James Edsall III. Webb was running second at the time and Rhodes was running fourth and Edsall was fifth.

Fifteen laps later five cars got together coming off the second corner while battling for the tenth position. Among those involved in the incident were Cullen Canmasta, Angie Donahue and Kevin Donahue.

Muncie’s Bret Miles used the inside line entering turn three on the fourth lap, trading a little paint with Josh Burton to take the lead and go on to win the Street Stock feature.

Rich Boyer, Anderson, used the high side to get around Burton on lap 11, but was unable to press Miles for the win. Rod Phipps powered around Derrick Layne and Josh Myers on the 26 lap on the front straight to claim the third position.

Rod Phipps used lapped traffic to pass Rob Wyman Sr. on lap 22 to capture the WMDH Thunder Car feature followed by Wyman, Lundy, Earl Adams II and Sam Folsom.

The early lead was taken by Shawn Cullen, who led until lap 15 when he suddenly slowed coming off the fourth corner, which gave the lead to Wyman.

It was Phipps second consecutive feature win and third of the season.

“This is still a two-groove race track,” Phipps said of his outside move. “Everyone in this division races clean.”

James Edsall III continued his impressive performances in the Last Chance Wrecker Thunder Roadsters division picking up his third win in four races.

Edsall took advantage of a double file restart on lap 12 to drive around the outside of Al Renner to take the lead and never looked back. Renner came in second with Marty Griffin nailing down the third spot holding off Darrell Brown and Tony Brickert.

The United States Air Force Night of Thrills returns next Saturday to Anderson Speedway featuring the Front Wheel Drive Division on the oval and a variety of unique events. There will be School Bus Figure-8 competition, a Powder Puff School Bus Figure-8, Cork Screw Race, Backwards Race and the popular Culver’s Trailer Race. Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing starting at 8 p.m.