Alexander Makes Speedway History; Edsall Gets Roadsters Win
For the first time ever the Bandoleros competed on the full track at Anderson Speedway with Jarrett Alexander scoring a clean sweep.

The Bandoleros have competed at Anderson on a regular basis during the 2010 season, but up until Saturday it has always been on an abbreviated course on the west end of the speedway,.

Equipped with restrictor plates the Bandoleros drivers ran the full quarter-mile oval. Alexander, 13, Brownsburg, was fast qualifier, captured the heat race and went on to win the feature event.

Zack Bohmer took the early lead in the feature chased by Randy Caldwell, Alexander, Chris Hacker and Dalton Brown.

But the driver on the move was Alexander as he made an inside pass of Caldwell on the front straight on the third lap and two laps later used the low line to pass Bohmer.

The first caution flag waved when Hacker and Caldwell were racing side by side on the front straight and Caldwell slide along the retaining wall coming to a stop in turn one.

On the restart Alexander pulled away from Bohmer, who was locked in a tight battle with Hacker and Brown. Coming off the fourth corner on the next to last lap, Bohmer, Hacker and Brown race three-wide. Going down the front straight Brown and Bohmer made contact with Brown flipping and coming to a stop just past the start/finish line.

Alexander scored the win followed by Zack Freeman, Caldwell, Bohmer and Hacker.

In what is becoming a familiar sight at Anderson Speedway, James Edsall III got outside of leader Al Renner coming off turn two on lap 17 to take the lead and score the win.

Edsall, driving the “Batmobile” has won three of four features for the Thunder Roadsters this year.

The early lead was taken by Tony Holden with Renner, Marty Griffin, Edsall and Phil Jenkins in a tight formation for the second spot.

Renner took the lead from Holden on lap nine with an inside move entering turn one on lap nine and coming off the fourth corner it was Edsall’s turn to use the low groove to move into second place.

Renner led with Edsall closing when Tony Brickert spun in turn two, bringing out the first of two caution laps.

With the Thunder Roadsters using a double-file restart for the first time, Edsall got the jump to pass Renner.

At the finish it was Edsall winning by 1-second over Renner, followed by Griffin, Darrell Brown and Brickert.