Poore Powers to CRA Street Stock Victory; Goff Captures UMRA Feature
Anderson’s Josh Poore was the driver on the move in the second half of the Champion Racing Association Street Stock Anderson 75 and went on to record the victory.

Poore took the lead from Muncie’s Bret Miles Jr. on lap 47 with an inside pass coming off the fourth corner during EDCO Welding Night at the Races. From there Poore pulled away until a caution on lap 65 when Miles spun in turn four bunched up the field.

Poore was running fourth after 30 laps and started his march to the front by passing Rich Boyer on the outside on the front straight to claim third. Four laps later he moved inside Steve Christman entering turn one to grab the second position. Closing on Miles until he made the final pass for the lead.

At the finish it was Poore, Boyer, fast qualifier Josh Myers, Rob Allman and Danny Smith.

The red-flag waved on the ninth circuit when Rick Erwin made contact with the lapped car of Eric Clevenger. The impact sent Erwin into the turn four car with his Chevrolet landing driver’s side down on the pavement.

The race was slowed a total of eight times by caution flags.

Fortville’s Terry Goff took another step toward his 15th UMRA midget championship by capturing the 25-lap feature win.

Goff set fast time and won the first of three heat races. Goff passed CJ Leary on lap eight with an inside move on the front straight as the two leaders split a lapped car.

The start of the race was delayed when Jason Goff jumped tire on the front straight and hit the turn one retaining wall. At the start the lead was taken by Oogie Goff chased by Ron Hamm and Leary.

Leary got inside of Oogie Goff on lap five with an inside move entering turn one and on the same lap Terry Gogg got inside his brother entering turn three.

Once Terry Goff grabbed the point has was not seriously challenged as he recorded the seventh feature win of 2010 and the 118th of his career. At the finish it was Goff, Leary, Robbie Roland, Oogie Goff and Patrick Wolf.

Carey Abrell passed Tim Dilg with seven laps remaining on the front straight and then had to dodge a spinning car in turn four to hold on for the victory.

Dilg took the lead on the eighth lap with an outside pass of Greg Isbell down the back straight and remained in front until Abrell was able to make the pass.

Behind Abrell and Dilg, Jeff William, Rickie Tharp and Chris Teepe rounded out the top five.

Rod Phipps led all 25 laps to win the Figure-8 feature holding off Curtis Chapman over the final 20 laps.

Behind Phipps and Chapman were Shawn Cullen, James Peterson and Jason Pitts.

With a tight points battle between Rich Boyer and Rob Allman the Street Stocks return to action next Saturday in the Lawrence Oil Night at the Races presented by AMSOIL. The Front Wheel Drive oval division, Legends, Thunder Roadsters and Bandoleros are all on the racing card. Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing action starting at 8 p.m.