U.S. Air Force Night of Thrills Featured on Saturday Night
Anderson Speedway begins the month of racing with a big racing program on tap during the U.S. Air Force Night of Thrills on Saturday, October 2. The WMDH 102.5 Night at the Races features IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s, School Bus Figure 8’s, Backwards Race, Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s and Culver’s Trailer Race.

Anderson Speedway will continue to feature four Grand Marshalls during this fall event that honors former Figure 8 stars at the legendary racetrack. This year the Grand Marshalls include Joe Beaver, Bob Fields, Johny Keller and Gene Huston.

In the IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s, Gary Bedell sits atop the point standings with a 97 point margin over Charlie Hargraves. Third is Chris Green a recent winner at Salem with defending series champion Doug Greig in fourth position. Dane Lester rounds out the top five.

Defending division champion Nick Warner leads the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 standings with Elliott McKinney in second position and Josh Tharp listed in third spot. Rickie Tharp and Harry LaShure complete the top five performers.

In the most recent School Bus Figure 8 event, Basil Stanley earned the victory over Will Cornwell and Danny Stanley. The Backwards race debuted in September with Jedi Cluxton scoring the win. Nick Warner claimed the previous Culver’s Trailer Race besting the 16 vehicles starting field.

Spectator gates open at 4 p.m. on Saturday with the thrills program beginning at 7. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free. College students with an ID are admitted for $5.