Greig Claims IOFS Feature; Tharp Gets FWD Figure 8 Win
Indianapolis driver Doug Grieg took advantage of a restart with five laps remaining to take the lead from RJ Norton to win the final visit of the International Outlaw Figure-8 series at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Greig pressed Norton for the 10 laps while the two drivers were running nose to tail. Greig kept bumping the back-end of Norton’s car, but was unable to get alongside for the pass.

With five laps remaining Elwood’s Bruce McFall stopped at the crossover bringing out the fourth and final caution flag and set the stage for a final double file restart.

On the restart Greig starting on the inside was able to get past Norton entering turn one and went on to the victory. Ben Tunny finished second followed by Norton, Gary Bedel and Jeff Hizer.

“I took my time early in the race,” Grieg said. “Everyone was driving a little crazy at the start. On the last restart Norton gave me the low line.”

The complexion of the race changed at the halfway point with Tunny leading chased by Jeff Shakelford. The race was slowed when Andy Sherley stalled at the crossover. Tunny went to the pit area giving up the point.

On the restart Shakelford jumped the start and was sent to the tail of the field. That gave the point to Charlie Hargraves, but Norton grabbed the inside line entering turn three to take the lead.

Hargraves slowed on lap 33 which moved Grieg into the second spot chased by Tunny.
Josh Tharp led all 15 laps to capture the IOFS Front Wheel Drive feature followed by Rickie Tharp, Brad Brooks and Elliott McKinney.

Tharp made contact with the retaining wall during qualifications and the team made the necessary repairs.

The race was slowed by caution with four laps remaining when Jeremy Morris and Chris Bair made contact in the crossover. On the restart Mike Alley made contact with Nick Warner entering turn three. Alley was disqualified following the contact.

Next Saturday is the Ed Martin Season Championship event with champions being determined in six divisions. The Street Stocks, Figure-8, WMDH Thunder Cars, Front Wheel Drive oval and Figure-8 and Pure Stock divisions will all be in action. Gates open at 4 p.m. with racing action starting at 7 p.m.