Tharp Sweeps Figure 8 Competition; Rod Phipps Captures Championship
(October 11, 2010) – It has become a familiar theme during the 2010 season at Anderson Speedway and competition in the Figure-8 Division was no different during Ed Martin Toyota Championship night with Josh Tharp holding off a determined Curtis Chapman for his third feature win of
the year.

Tharp edged out Chapman by a tenth of a second during qualifying and recorded a heat win prior to the running of the 25-lap feature.

The Anderson driver led from the start of the feature with Chapman and point's champion Rod Phipps running close behind throughout much of the event.

Shawn Cullen, running fifth early in the race suffered a flat left tire which forced him into the pits. Nick Warner passed Phipps on the white flag lap on the back straight while Chapman looked for a way around Tharp.

At the finish it was Tharp winning by a half-second over Chapman followed by Warner, Phipps and Jason Pitts.

James Peterson had the early lead in the opening heat race but was passed by both Warner and Tharp on the third lap going down the front straight. On the sixth circuit Tharp got inside of Warner coming off the fourth corner and completed the pass before the start/finish line. Tharp was followed by Warner and Peterson. It was Tharp's first heat win of the year.

In the second heat race Cullen led from start to finish chased by Chapman, Phipps and Bruce McFall. For Cullen it was his first heat win in limited outings during the season.