Boyer Claims Street Stock Crown; Wyman, Williams, Tharp and Warner Get Victories
ANDERSON, Ind. (October 9, 2010) – Rob Allman’s bad luck with 11 laps remaining enabled Rich Boyer to claim his third Street Stock championship at Anderson Speedway on Saturday’s Ed Martin Toyota championship night.

Fast qualifier Josh Poore led all 50 laps to claim the victory with Josh Myers grabbing the second position from Allman on lap five with an outside move down the back straight.

Allman held down the third spot, which was good enough for the championship title. While running a comfortable third with 11 laps remaining Allman’s car developed a mechanical problem and he slowed and dropped back in the field.

At the finish Boyer, who entered the race 15 markers behind Allman, claimed the title with a third place finish.

Entering the night Allman led Boyer by 15 points. He picked up eight points on Boyer in qualifying. But by winning a heat race, Boyer was once ahead down 15 points heading into the 50-lap feature event.

With Poore opening a comfortable lead the caution flag waved on lap 27 for fluid in turn two, which bunched up the leaders.

Following the restart Poore was again able to pull away from Myers with Allman running a comfortable third with Boyer and Ronnie Rose rounding out the top five.

But that’s when everything went sour for Allman, who finished second in the point’s battle for a fourth consecutive year. The rear-end in Allman’s Dave Hacker owned Chevrolet locked up, costing him the champion’s crown.

Poore took the win, his third in a row, followed by Myers, Boyer, Rose and Derrick Layne. Allman finished sixth, a lap down to the leader.

Boyer said he was retiring from competition after the CRA Street Stock next week at Winchester Speedway.

A highlight of the entire night of racing action was the clean racing among the competitors, one track official said it was the cleanest ever on a championship racing night with titles on the line.

Rob Wyman Sr. made it a clean sweep in WMDH ThunderCar action setting fast time, winning a heat race and leading all 30 laps of the feature to record his fourth win of the year.

Wyman was pressured for the entire distance by Hannah Lundy, who kept looking to the inside hoping to make the pass. Rob Phipps was a close third and kept pressing Lundy for the position.

Phipps recorded the championship with Wyman moving past Lundy on the final weekend of competition to claim the second position in the points. Allman finished fourth followed by Rob Noel.

It was a clean sweep on the final night of competition for Josh Tharp as he held off Curtis Chapman the entire distance to secure the Figure-8 feature win followed by Nick Warner, champion Rod Phipps and Jason Pitts.

Jeff Williams took the lead from season champion Chris Teepe with an outside pass on the front straight and went on to record the victory followed by Ron Phipps, Ronnie Phipps and Jerry Dane.

Nick Warner celebrated his fifth Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 championship by winning his sixth feature of the year.

Warner took the lead on lap 10 with an inside slingshot pass of early leader Ronnie Phipps entering turn one. Donnie Ellis Jr. finished second followed by Phipps, Elliott McKinney and Ryan Claborn.

Next Saturday is the final U.S. Air Force Night of Thrills presented by Harrison College at Anderson Speedway with a demolition derby, school bus figure 8’s, rollover contest, backwards race and Culver’s Trailer Race. Gates open at 4 p.m. with racing action starting at 7 p.m.