Wyman Sweeps WMDH ThunderCars; Phipps Wins Championship
(October 11, 2010) – Entering the final points race for the WMDH ThunderCars at Anderson Speedway during Ed Martin Toyota Championship night, Rob Wyman Sr. trailed Hannah Lundy by one point for the second spot.

With Anderson driver Rod Phipps locked in as the champion in the division, Wyman and Lundy waged a spirited battle for the second spot. Returning in 2010 after a 12-year absence, Wyman finished the season in style.

Wyman jumped into the lead of the feature from the start with Lundy glued to his rear bumper. Phipps ran a comfortable third throughout the event.

Lundy looked high and low attempting to pass Wyman for the top spot, but was never able to complete the pass. The only caution flag waved on the second lap with David McConnell spun in turn three.

Wyman recorded the win by 3-tenths of a second over Lundy,
followed by Phipps, Rob Allman and Ronald Adams.

Wyman edged out Lundy and Phipps during qualifying and stormed from the third position to win the first heat race.

McConnell grabbed the point at the start of the heat race chased by Phipps and Wyman. Wyman got inside of Phipps going down the back straight on lap five and two laps later took the lead from McConnell with a power move down the back straight.

In the second heat race, Earl Adams II and Lundy staged a classic battle for the win. Several times Lundy looked to make an inside pass of Adams, but ran out of racing room. She then moved to the outside groove and for several laps the two raced in close quarters for the lead.

Lundy finally was able to complete the pass on lap eight on the front straight. The close racing was highlighted by clean competition between Lundy and Adams. Adams gave Lundy room on the outside and she never made contact as the two raced side-by-side. Allman finished third followed by Rob Noel and Josh Owens.