U.S. Air Force Night of Thrills Held
(October 16, 2010) –
There was a little bit of everything at Anderson Speedway during the final Night of Thrills presented by the U.S. Air Force and Harrison College. School buses and cars flipped and boats were destroyed.

For the first time there were so many entries that two Culver’s Trailer Races were contested with a variety of vehicles and trailers in competition, which included two boats and a piano.

Danny Stanley Jr. passed Gary Bragg Jr. on lap six of the first of two Culver’s Trailer Race and went on to win. Bragg made heavy contact with a boat and trailer on the track and ended his night.

Nick Warner won the second Culver’s Trailer Race despite his trailer taking a hard hit in the cross-over.

Stanley Jr. recorded two wins for the night when he won the School Bus Figure-8 which was cut short when Tim Stanley carried too much speed off the fourth corner with the bus coming to a stop laying on its side.

Tim Stanley had the early lead followed by Mike Alley and Danny Stanley Jr. On lap six Danny Stanley Jr. slipped inside Tim Stanley on the back straight to claim the top spot and the win.
Danny Stanley was followed by Basil Stanley and Josh Tharp.

Illinois driver Jim Termanas led the entire distance to win the adult Mini-Cup competition with Steve Naples moving up to finish second. With Termanas on the point, Naples passed Jamie Dornski for the third spot on lap four with an inside move coming off the fourth corner and then got inside of Camden Murphy in turn one.

There was a good duel for third between Dornski and Murphy for the third position with the two swapping the position on every lap. Murphy was hugging the low line and Dornski in the high line. At the finish it was Murphy holding on for third followed by Dornski and Patrick Morris.

Amanda Harrison made the trip from New Jersey worthwhile by splitting the cars of Joran Caskey and Erica Ensor coming off the fourth corner on the final lap to claim the rookie Mini-cup victory.

On the final lap the leader was Bradley Stiffler with Caskey passing Harrison for the second spot. The three front runners ran side by side before Harrison was able to score the win.
She was followed by Ensor, Caskey, Stiffler at the finish.

Ensor took the early lead chased by Trey Craig and Stiffler. The two leaders spun on the front straight which gave Stiffler the lead. He was challenged by Amanda Harrison on three restarts, but held on for the win.

Craig, who was sent to the tail following the lap two spin was working his way back to the front and was running third on lap eight when he tried to go low to pass Harrison. The two made contact with Craig collecting the car of Matthew Lorance and move coming to a halt on the outside retaining wall.

Kevin Henson passed Harry Lashure at the corkscrew on the final lap to win the corkscrew race with Lashure holding on for second.

Henson took the early lead but surrendered it to Rickie Tharp on the third lap coming down the front straight on lap three. Tharp’s night ended on the next lap when his car stopped in the corkscrew.

That put Henson back into the lead and set up the battle with Lashure that wasn’t settled until the final lap.

Robin Cullen took advantage of slower traffic to take the lead in the Powder Puff School Bus Figure-8 from Becky Stanley at the start/finish line on lap four. Entering turn three Teresa Dowden got inside of Stanley to finish second. Third went to Stanley followed by Chrissy Tharp and Jamie Stanley.

For the second time this year Jedi Cluxton won a wild backwards race. Cluxton dominated the race while the other competitors were bumping and banging each other in the corners.

New Castle’s Kenny Boykin won the roll over contest by rolling his compact car four times in two trips over the ramp.

Mark Lucas of Connersville captured the 15-car demolition derby.

Next week features 300 laps of action on the Anderson Speedway oval with the 200 lap Enduro for the ThunderCars and the premier event of the season for the Front Wheel Drive division with the running of the Ed Maynard Memorial 100 presented by Great Deals Magazine. Gates open at 4 p.m. with racing action starting at 7 p.m.