Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Cater Captures Late Model Opener; Allman, Williams and Chapman Also Earn Victories

(April 2, 2011) – With the return of Late Models to Anderson Speedway, fans were treated to an exciting opening night win by Terry Cater.

Cater took advantage of a double file restart on lap 19 using the outside line and raced side by side with Bret Miles Jr. for two laps before taking over the point. Cater maintained the lead on a double file restart on lap 20 and then survived a final restart to record the win.

Jon Heck took the early lead chased by Miles, who grabbed the lead on the fifth circuit at the start-finish line.

With Cater and Miles battling nose to tail for the final 10 laps there was plenty of action for the third position with Heck, William Mefford and Brett Robinson battling for the position.

Mefford got inside of Heck on lap 27 exiting turn two and completed the pass down the back straight to claim the third position, Heck finished fourth followed by Robinson.

Cater set the fast time for the Anderson Speedway Late Models on opening night with a time of 13.578-seconds. Brandon Mefford posted the second quick time at 13.604-seconds with Miles Jr. third fastest at 13.655 seconds.

Muncie’s Miles Jr. used a last lap pass underneath Rick Rinehart to record the first heat win in the return of the Late Models to Anderson Speedway on a regular basis since 1998.

Rob Allman took the lead from Larry Swinford on a double-file restart on lap five and went on to take the victory, but had to hold off a charge by Lonnie Burton. Burton closed to Allman’s rear bumper with eight laps remaining, but Allman took advantage of lapped traffic to pull away.

Burton finished second, followed by fast qualifier Hannah Lundy, David McConnell and Jameson Owens.

Swinford’s night ended on the lap five restart with a broken suspension part at the same time Pam Neal spun on the front straight, ending her night with a leaking radiator.

Jeff Williams continued his dominance in oval action in the Front Wheel Drive Division taking the lead from Kevin Henson on the fifth circuit and pulling away to open the 2011 season just as he finished 2010. Williams won the last four feature races in 2010.

Williams was followed to the checkers by Ron Phipps, Henson, Kevin Harmon and John Davis Jr.

Curtis Chapman led the entire distance to win the opening night Figure-8 feature and was pressed the entire distance by Nick Warner, who moved into the second spot on the second lap when Josh Tharp experienced a mechanical problem.

James Peterson finished third followed by Bruce McFall and Larry Swinford.

On Sunday, April 3, spectator gates open at 11:30 a.m. with the racing beginning at 2. Admission is $15 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.