Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Williams Continues Winning Ways; Jones, Henson Get Heat Wins

By Ken de la Bastide

(April 5, 2011) – Alexandria’s Jeff Williams started off the 2011 season for the Front Wheel Drive division on the oval just as he finished the 2010 season, with a dominating performance.

Williams won the last four feature events of last year and it took him only seven laps to grab the lead in the feature event on Saturday at Anderson Speedway.

Donnie Ellis Jr. chased by Kevin Henson, Williams, Ron Phipps and Kevin Harmon took the early lead.

On the fifth circuit Williams drove inside of Henson entering turn one to move into the second spot with Phipps taking advantage of the opening to move up to third. Two laps later Williams got inside of Ellis and at the start/finish line took the lead.

Phipps moved inside of Ellis going down the back straight on lap 10, but was unable to close on Williams.

Williams easily cruised to the victory followed by Phipps, Kevin Henson, Kevin Harmon and John Davis Jr.

Ellis’ night ended on lap 12 and Eric Jones, who crossed the finish in third place, was later disqualified.

“We’re trying to win the championship,” Williams said following the win.

Jones did win the first heat race steadily moving up from the fifth starting position to take the lead from Kevin Henson with an inside move entering turn four on the next to last lap.

Kevin Henson, Williams, Ellis and Harmon followed him to the checkers.

Trevin Henson used the inside line coming off the second corner on the second lap to get past Todd Yarberry to grab the lead and win in the second heat. Yarberry finished second followed by Andrea Williams, Marshall Clark and Zachary Kendall.

Williams set fast time during qualifying with a lap of 16.024-seconds followed by Harmon, Sean Bragg, Ellis, Kevin Henson all with laps in the 16-second range.