Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Five Divisions Showcased on Saturday Night

(April 6, 2011) – Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, April 9 with five divisions showcased in the racing lineup. Divisions that will compete on the high-banked quarter-mile oval include Street Stocks, Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s, Legends, Last Chance Wrecker Thunder Roadsters and Bandoleros.

The Street Stocks will open up their 2011 season with a 30-lap main event on tap after qualifications and heat races. Last year’s champion Rich Boyer retired from racing after claiming his most recent title. Top challengers from 2010 included Rob Allman, Derrick Layne, Randy Hoppes and Josh Poore who became a regular during the later stages of the season.

Multi-time Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 champion Nick Warner has advanced to the Street Stocks and Figure 8 divisions and plans only a partial campaign this year in the division. Top five performers that could be in the title hunt this season include Elliott McKinney, Harry Lashure, Donnie Ellis Jr. among other top drivers.

The Legends most recent event at Anderson took place last September with John Robbins claiming the feature victory. James Esall ll will attempt to continue his winning ways in the Last Chance Wrecker Thunder Roadsters with Dillon Brown the last driver to score a Bandolero checkered flag.

On Saturday, April 9, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.