Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Poore Scores Street Stock Victory; Webb, Edsall and Teepe Also Visit Winner's Circle

(April 9, 2011) – Anderson’s Josh Poore took the lead from Josh Meyers on the third double file restart and then kept him at bay to record the opening win of the season for the EDCO Street Stocks at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

The early lead was taken by rookie driver JP Crabtree, but when he slipped on the third lap Meyers, Poore and Ronnie Rose all gained positions.

On the first restart Meyers and Poore raced side by side battling for the lead when the caution flag waved when Crabtree and Pam Neal spun in turn one, which set up another double file restart. Poore jumped into the lead entering turn one and despite two more restarts went on to record the win. Meyers finished second followed by Jacob McElfresh, Randy Hoppes and Rob Allman.

Rose’s strong run in a brand new car came to an end on lap 17. While Poore was taking command of the race, Hoppes and Allman swapped the fourth spot several times before the finish.

Going back to 2010 it was Poore’s fourth feature win in the division.

“I did my homework to get the car right,” Poore said after the win. “The restarts make you work for your position. I like it.”

Taylor Webb scored a clean sweep in the Legend’s Division competition setting fast time and then going on to win a heat race and an accident filled feature event.

Bryan Nuckles took the early lead in the feature but on the second lap Webb got inside on the front straight to take the lead. On lap four Nuckles and third place running John Robbins locked bumpers coming off the fourth corner, which resulted in a multi-car crash.

Nuckles and Robbins again locked horns coming off the second corner on lap seven with both drivers being sent to the tail for being involved in the caution. Nuckles night ended with a flat tire. On the restart Doug Dugger and Andrea Hans getting together in turn one.

Robbins climbed back through the field and moved into the second spot with nine laps remaining, but was unable to close on Webb. Alec Webb came home third followed by Aaron Holden and Chris Rhodes.

James Edsall III continued his winning ways in the Last Chance Wrecker Thunder Roadster Division by inheriting the lead on lap 13 when Tony Holden suddenly slowed.

Edsall has never lost in the winged roadster dubbed the “Batmobile”. Once Holden was out of the race, Edsall pulled away from the field. Al Renner came home in second followed by Aaron Holden, Darrell Brown and Chris Weddle, who recovered from a spin on lap 14.

The complexion of the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 event changed dramatically with two laps remaining when Zach Kendall spun coming off the second corner. The leaders Elliott McKinney and Chris Teepe split Kendall.

Before the restart McKinney was forced to the pits with a flat tire and rejoined the field last. Teepe grabbed the top spot followed by Kevin Henson, Bruce McFall and Donnie Ellis Jr.

Prior to the caution flag, the leaders had to take evasive action in the crossover to miss traffic. Teepe pressed McKinney throughout the middle stages of the race before the caution flag waved on the thirteenth circuit.

At the finish it was Teepe scoring a sweep on the night with McKinney recovering to finish second after Henson bounced off the turn one wall on the final lap. Mike Alley finished third followed by McFall and Harry Lashure.

The Champion Racing Association Super Late Models open the 2011 season with the running of the Seal Wrap 125 presented by Great Deals Savings Magazine next Saturday at Anderson Speedway. Included in the exciting racing card are WMDH ThunderCars and Front Wheel Drive Oval Division. Racing starts at 7 p.m.