Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Teepe Opens Season with a Win

(April 11, 2011) – Chris Teepe opened the 2011 racing in a different division and the result on Saturday at Anderson Speedway was a victory in a wild Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature.

Teepe took the lead from Elliott McKinney during a wild string of events that took place on lap 13 and started when Zachary Kendall spun coming off the second corner and stalled in the racing line.

McKinney and Teepe came off the corner and split Kendall’s stopped car, but the result was a flat tire for McKinney. While McKinney’s crew quickly made the tire change it gave the lead to Teepe chased by Kevin Henson, Bruce McFall, Donnie Ellis Jr. and Mike Alley.

On the final lap with Teepe in the lead, Henson, McFall and Ellis were all battling for the second spot. Henson got high and bounced off the outside retaining wall which scrambled the field and allowed McKinney to cut through the slowed cars to claim the second spot.

Alley finished third followed by McFall and Harry Lashure rounded out the top five. Kevin Henson was credited with a seventh place finish.

“It was pretty tough,” Teepe said after the win. “All the cars are running equal.”

Teepe was the 2010 champion in the Front Wheel Drive Oval division.

McKinney had the early lead in the first of two heat races when he suddenly slowed a third of the way into the event which gave the lead to Kevin Henson, who was passed by Tepee on the front straight with a lap remaining for the win.

In the second heat race, Donnie Ellis Jr. used a three-wide move down the back straight to move into the second spot with two laps remaining and then got inside of James Frawley on the back straight to record the win. Trevin Henson took the initial lead but turned the point over to Frawley when he experienced a mechanical problem and slowed dramatically.