Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Poore Opens Season With a Sweep

(April 11, 2011) – After winning the three last feature events of the 2010 season, Josh Poore made it clear Saturday that he was going to contend for the championship in the EDCO Street Stock Division at Anderson Speedway.

Poore set fast time during qualifying, captured one of the two heat races and then battled Josh Meyers for the victory in the feature.

Rookie driver JP Crabtree took the early lead in the feature, but it was short-lived when Meyers, the second fast qualifier, got a run on the inside going down the back straight to take the point. Before the lap was completed both Poore and Ronnie Rose slipped past Crabtree.

The first double file restart came on lap three and Meyers and Poore raced side by side for three laps until the caution flag waved when Crabtree and Pam Neal spun in turn one.

On the restart Meyers spun the tires on his Monte Carlo which was all Poore needed to use the outside groove into the lead entering turn one.

For the next 12 laps Poore held the point with Meyers and Rose conducting a spirited battle for the second place with Rob Allman and Randy Hoppes fighting for fourth. Rose’s night ended on lap 18 with an apparent overheating problem.

Following the final restart with six laps remaining Poore pulled away from Meyers to win by 1.57-seconds followed by Jacob McElfresh, who ran with the leaders the entire distance. Allman and Hoppes exchanged the fourth position several times before Hoppes prevailed with Allman coming home in fifth.

Allman was using the team’s WMDH ThunderCar to compete when a problem developed in a new power plant for the team’s Street Stock entry. For Allman, last year’s runner-up, the important thing was to gain points on opening night.

“I did my homework to get the car right,” Poore said in victory lane. “The restarts make you work for your position. I like it.”
In the first heat race Hoppes had the early lead until being passed by Poore at the halfway point on a restart. The two were followed by Meyers, Rose and Crabtree.

Pam Neal recorded the win in the second heat race when McElfresh, who led from the start drifted high in the fourth corner. That allowed Neal to sneak underneath to grab the point and the win. Allman, Frankie Oaks and Shawn Cullen rounded out the top five.

Poore posted the quick time of 13.746-second during qualifying with Meyers just a tick of the clock behind him. The fastest nine drivers were separated by less than a second.

Rose in a brand new car set the third quick time followed by Crabtree and Hoppes.