Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Sullivan RV CRA Late Model Sportsman, EDCO Welding CRA Street Stocks and Figure 8's Featured on Saturday

(April 20, 2011) – Racing action will return to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, April 23 with an exciting racing lineup at the Madison County racetrack. Featured divisions include the Sullivan RV CRA Late Model Sportsman, EDCO Welding CRA Street Stocks and Figure 8’s.

The Sullivan RV CRA Late Model Sportsman made three appearances at Anderson Speedway in 2010 with Al Cook Jr. earning the May checkered flag, Charlie Hanna scoring the June affair and Brett Robinson winning the July event. New Castle’s Jason Atkinson opened up the 2011 with capturing the season opener at Plymouth Speedway on April 10. Other early season challengers include Bret Miles Jr., Charlie Hanna, Nick Pressler and Mark Lambert.

Many of the competitors in the brand new Late Model division at Anderson Speedway will be part of the 50-lap event. Terry Cater won the opener on April 2 followed by Miles and William Mefford. The remainder of the top five included John Heck and Brett Robinson.

The EDCO Welding CRA Street Stocks will make their first of five scheduled stops at Anderson this weekend. Last season events were won by Rich Boyer (May), Josh Poore (June), Rob Allman (August) and Poore in September. This season began at Plymouth with Chad Poorman earning the victory over Anderson’s Josh Poore with Illinois competitor Eddie Wolfe.

Anderson Speedway’s EDCO Welding Street Stock division began their season on April 9 with Poore extending his winning streak from 2010 to four consecutive victories. Josh Myers grabbed runner-up honors with Jacob McElfresh in third place.

Curtis Chapman won the Figure 8 initial event on April 2 followed by Nick Warner. Other top finishers in the opener included James Peterson, Bruce McFall and Larry Swinford.

On Saturday, April 23, spectator gates open at 3:30 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.