Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Hargraves Holds Off Bedell; Powell, Bair Score Wins at U.S. Air Force Night of Thrills

(April 30, 2011) – Charles Hargraves took the lead on lap nine and had to hold off fast qualifier Gary Bedell over the final 34 laps to capture the International Outlaw Figure 8 race at Anderson Speedway on Saturday during the U.S. Air Force Night of Thrills.

Hargraves started at the tail of the field when he failed to post a qualifying time and worked his way up through the field, which included plenty of action at the crossover.

With three laps remaining Bedell got inside of Hargraves entering turn three, but was hung up behind the lapped car of Josh Tharp. Bedell came back from a flat tire early in the race to finish second.

Third place when to Chris Green, who also came back from a flat tire, with Tharp and Rod Phipps rounding out the top five.

It proved to be a race of attrition with only 7 of the 16 cars still running at the end. The mayhem started on lap 6 when Curtis Chapman and Danny Stanley Jr. got together in the crossover.

Then on lap 12, Chuckie Hargraves and Jeff Hizer got together on the front straight away with Hizer’s night ending against the outside retaining wall. Hargraves night ended on lap 16 when he slowed in the crossover and was rear ended by Bruce McFall.

Dave Powell and Elliott McKinney swapped the lead twice in the final two laps with Powell getting the win in the cork screw race when McKinney got trapped behind lapped traffic.

A total of 16 cars started the unusual race in which the competitors have to circle a tire in the middle of the Figure-8 track.

Powell led most of the race by cutting a sharp turn around the tire, but McKinney closed on lap nine and was able to go outside at the corkscrew to take the lead. On the next lap McKinney went high and had to go around a slower car which allowed Powell to grab the point. Bruce McFall came home third followed by Trevin Henson and Nick Warner.

Eric Bair led the entire distance to win the backward race, despite suffering significant rear-end damage from a collision on the back straight halfway through the race. Cody Rinehart and Warner rounded out the top three.

Mike Alley led the entire way in the School Bus Figure-8 competition followed by Mike Irwin, who held off a determined Jeff Reichart.

Shane Marshel got together with Irwin coming off the fourth corner, almost causing Irwin to flip. Irwin was able to continue, but Marshel’s night was finished with a broken right front suspension.

Cody Rinehart captured the Culver’s Trailer Race with Warner finishing second.

The Champion Racing Association Super Late Model series returns to Anderson Speedway for the Seal Wrap 125 next Saturday. The Anderson Late Models, WMDH ThunderCars and Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s complete the racing card. Racing starts at 8 p.m.