Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

CRA Super Series Late Models Set to Invade Anderson

(May 5, 2011) –  The action-packed month of May kicks off at Anderson Speedway with the rescheduled Seal Wrap 125 presented by Great Deals Savings Magazine featuring the competitors from the CRA Super Series Late Model circuit. Other divisions in action include Anderson Speedway Late Models, WMDH ThunderCars and Front Wheel Dive Figure 8’s.

The CRA Super Series Late Models return for their 49th appearance at the high-banked quarter-mile oval. The series has a storied history at Anderson Speedway and the Northern Series season opening event on May 7 is shaping up to be one of most exciting Spring Late Model events held at the speedway.

A talented list of drivers are expected including two-time and defending series champion John Van Doorn, multi-time series titlist Scott Hantz, rising star Ross Kenseth, Welch & Wilson Motorsports entrants Derrick Griffin and Tyler Roahrig among other top drivers in the Midwest. Along with the stout field of drivers, CRA recently announced double file restarts will debut for the Super Late Models in 2011.

Proving how tough it’s to reach the winner’s circle at Anderson, CRA Champions John Van Doorn and Scott Hantz grabbed feature victories in 2010. VanDoorn wheeled the No. 61 into the winner’s circle in April with Hantz claiming the prestigious Welch & Wilson Motorsports Redbud 300.

In series history, Brian Ross still holds the number one position in victories with scoring a total of eight at Anderson. Other multiple event winners include inaugural series champion Kenny Tweedy (4), Canadian Legend Junior Hanley (4), Hantz (4), 2003 series champion Bobby Parsley (3) and Van Doorn (3). Drivers that have claimed two victories include Jeff Lane, Jim Cooper and Rick Turner. Sixteen drivers have scored at least one win at Anderson.

In the Anderson Speedway Late Model division, Terry Cater holds a slim three point lead over Bret Miles Jr. Third in the standings is William Mefford with John Heck and Rick Rhinehart completing the top five.

Rob Allman sits atop the WMDH ThunderCar point standings with a three point cushion over Lonny Burton. The remainder of the top five includes Hannah Lundy, David McConnel and Jameson Owens.

In the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 division, Chris Teepe holds the first position after earning the feature win. Other early season challengers include Elliott McKinney, Bruce McFall, Mike Alley and Kevin Henson.

On Saturday, May 7, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $13 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.