Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Lane Captures CRA Opener; Warner, Mefford and Teepe Also Visit Winner's Circle

(May 7, 2011) – In the 200th start of his Champion Racing Association career, Knightstown’s Jeff Lane survived numerous restarts and a strong challenge from John VanDoorn to win the Seal Wrap 125 presented by Great Deals Savings Magazine.

Lane, the first driver to record 200 starts in the Super Late Model Series, took the lead on a restart on lap 32 when he used the outside line to get around Terry Fisher Jr.

VanDoorn, the defending CRA champion, looking for his third consecutive win to open the season at Anderson Speedway, moved into the second spot on lap 42 when he got inside of Fisher on the front straight.

For the next 65 laps VanDoorn continually bumped on the back of Lane’s car looking to move him off the low groove. VanDoorn’s night ended on lap 108 with a mechanical problem.

Lane was forced to hold off Mason Mingus and Fisher on two double-file restarts over the final 13 laps to record the 14th victory of his career.

Mingus and Fisher raced side by side for the second spot from lap 113 through lap 118 when Mingus grabbed the position. The 14th and final caution flag waved on lap 119 when Kenny Tweedy and Greg Boone tangled on the back straight.

On the final restart, Fisher on the preferred inside line was able to pull ahead of Mingus, but on lap 122 the positions swapped as Mingus got inside coming off the second corner. Jim Crabtree Jr. came home fourth followed by Tyler Roahrig.

Mingus started 14th in the 25 car field to improve the most positions during the race.

The early lead was taken by Rick Turner, who qualified eighth quickest and with the inversion, started on the pole position. He was passed on lap 21 when Fisher used a power move on the outside going down the back straight.

Ross Kenseth, the son of NASCAR driver, Matt, finished 20th after being caught up in an incident with David Carter on lap 73.

Lonny Burton did everything right for more than 24 laps, but a slip on the final corner on the final lap allowed Nick Warner to snatch an unexpected win in the WMDH Thunder Car feature Saturday at Anderson Speedway.

Burton jumped for a third row starting space to the lead at first chased by Larry Swinford with Hannah Lundy running a close third. On the second lap Lundy got inside of Swinford on the front straight to grab second and set her sights on Burton.

Meanwhile it was Warner, the fast qualifier, making his way toward the front by first passing Ron Allman with an outside move entering turn three on the sixth circuit and then moving into the third spot on a restart on lap nine. A lap later Warner got inside of Lundy on the back straight for the second spot.

For the next 15 laps Warner put his front bumper onto the back of Burton’s car in an effort to get the bottom groove to no avail.

On the final lap it appeared that Burton was going to record the victory when he drove into the third turn a little too hot, shot up the track which allowed Warner to dive underneath exiting the fourth corner for the win.

Warner won by .4-seconds over Burton followed by Lundy, Jeff Saxon and Allman.

“It was hard to get on the outside,” Warner said of Burton’s effort to hold the top spot. “We got together coming down the back straight late in the race, it was just good racing.”

Chris Teepe inherited the lead in the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 Division when leader Elliott McKinney made contact with Ryan Claborn in the crossover.

Prior to that action the fireworks had already begun. On the third lap Warner spun in turn two while running fifth and on the ensuing caution period he bumped into Blake Zirkle with Mike Alley than spinning Warner.

All three drivers were finished for the evening for the extracurricular activities during the caution period.

On the restart it appeared that McKinney had the car to beat before making contact with Claborn, which gave the point to Teepe, chased by Donnie Ellis Jr.

Crossover action wasn’t finished when on lap ten Bruce McFall, running fourth at the time made contact with the car of James Frawley.

At the finish it was Teepe, Ellis and Trevin Henson rounding out the top three.

“Are you sure it wasn’t a demo derby,” Teepe said of the action on the track following his victory.

William Mefford led all 30 laps to win the Anderson Late Model Division feature race.

With Mefford out front there was a spirited battle for second between Brandon Mefford and Terry Cater. The Mefford father and son team finished first and second followed by Cater