Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Seven to Little 500 Hall of Fame in 2011

(May 10, 2011) – Seven well-known Little 500 competitors and photographer are slated for induction into the Little 500 Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 28, part of "Little 500 Week" in Anderson, Indiana.

From the Historic Era (1948 to 1975) are Bob Cleberg, Larry Dickson, and Dick Good, while from the Modern Era comes Max Dowker, Jason McCord, Steve Remington, and Wayne Reutimann.

Cleberg, of Sahuarita, AZ, Won the race in 1956 from the thirty-third starting position. He competed with a GMC-powered car in 1955 and '56.

Dickson, who currently lives in Bargersville, IN, won the 1974 Little 500 from the pole as substitute driver for injured Bob Frey leading 344 laps.

Good, a native of South Bend, IN, was the race-winning driver in 1964 leading 401 of 500 laps. He also ran the 1965 race leading 12 laps and finishing 13th.

Dowker, of Charlotte, MI, was the patriarch of Dowker Enterprises. He built engines for many teams since 1982 including the 1983 winner (Marv Carman).

McCord, of Anderson, IN, Made 14 starts from 1992 to 2005; completed 5,216 laps (7th all-time). He also had four top-five finishes and led two races for a total of 28 laps.

Remington, a native of Frankton, IN, is a longtime race photographer. He has covered the Little 500 for more than twenty-five years. His photos have graced the pages of several Little 500 souvenir programs and National Speed Sport News issues.

Reutimann, of Zephyrhills, FL, Was the co-winner of the 1979 race. He was also the runner in 1987. He made eight starts from 1968 to '99. He completed 2,813 laps and led 181 total laps.

The "Class of 2011" will be officially inducted into the Little 500 Hall of Fame during a luncheon held at Anderson Speedway on May 28, at 11 a.m. Race day. Luncheon tickets can be purchased by calling (765) 288-4587. Seating is limited and those planning to attend are encouraged to purchase tickets quickly.