Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Six Divisions in Action on Saturday

(May 11, 2011) – Racing action resumes at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, May 14 with the second appearance from the Sullivan RV CRA Late Model Sportsman Series. Other divisions on the card include the Figure 8’s, Legends, Last Chance Wrecker Thunder Roadsters, Bandoleros and Front Wheel Drives Oval.

The Sullivan RV CRA Late Model Series will compete in their third event of the season. In the initial race at Anderson in April, Keith Sterkowitz took the lead on a lap 26 restart and went on to capture the victory. He held off Jason Atkinson on the final three restarts to record his second career win. Brett Robinson finished third, with Charlie Hanna and Moore close behind.

In the season point standings, Atkinson holds a 23 point lead over Sterkowitz with Hanna in third spot. Brett Robinson and Mark Lambert complete the top five in the series standings. In the Anderson Speedway point standings, Terry Cater holds a 10 point edge over most recent winner William Mefford. Third is Brandon Mefford with Randy Hoppes and Bret Miles Jr. rounding out the top five.

Curtis Chapman sits atop the early season Figure 8 point standings after capturing the opening two feature victories. Nick Warner ranks second, just six markers from the points lead. James Peterson is third with Bruce McFall and Josh Tharp completing the top five.

In the Front Wheel Drive Oval division, Jeff Williams leads the pack after scoring two victories to start the 2011 season. Ron Phipps is ranked second with Kevin Henson, Andrea Williams and Marshall Clark rounding out the top five.

The Legends have made two appearances this year with Taylor Webb and John Robbins scoring feature victories. James Edsall has won both of the Last Chance Wrecker Thunder Roadster main events this season.

On Saturday, May 14, spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.