Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Atkinson Records CRA Sportsman Victory, Caldwell gets first Bandolero Win

(May 14, 2011) – New Castle’s Jason Atkinson turned the table on Keith Sterkowitz to lead from start to finish to capture the Champion Racing Association Sullivan RV Sportsman Late Model feature at Anderson Speedway.

During the first visit of the CRA Sportsman at Anderson earlier this year Atkinson finished second to Sterkowitz in a race that was slowed by numerous cautions.

Atkinson took advantage of the invert of the fastest ten cars in qualifying to jump into the lead and was first chased by Mark Parker. Parker was passed by Nick Lay on the third lap with Sterkowitz moving into the third spot on lap seven.

Sterkowitz moved into the second spot on the first of two restarts on lap 14 with an inside move on Lay. He was able to close on Atkinson, but in the final laps lapped traffic gave Atkinson a comfortable win.

The second caution flag waved on lap 21 when Chris Parker and David Campbell tangled coming off the second corner with Campbell’s car vaulting over the front of Parker’s stopped machine.

Nick Moore finished third followed by Lay and Terry Cater.
It was Atkinson’s second win of the young season, having won earlier in the year at Plymouth Speedway.

“We didn’t have the best car in qualifying, but kept working on it during the heat race,” he said.
The field of Late Model Sportsman cars were evenly matched with the fastest six qualifiers all within one-tenth of a second. Charlie Hanna led the with a lap at 12.288-seconds, which was one one-thousandth of a second quicker than Mark Lambert. Nick Moore was third quick.

Nick Lay captured the first of the two heat races for the division leading the entire distance chased by Keith Sterkowitz, the winner of the first CRA Sportsman feature at Anderson.

Behind the two front runners, Nick Moore used the outside line to move into the third position and Terry Cater passed Hanna on the sixth circuit to finish fourth.

In the second heat race, Dean Baker jumped into the early lead and then held off KC Spillers for the win. Spillers used the outside line on lap three to pass Randy Hoppes and two laps later went inside of Danny Trent to claim the second spot. Trent finished third followed by Mark Livesay and Mark Parker.

Randy Caldwell broke the existing track record for the Bandoleros division in time trials and led from start to finish to capture the victory.

Caldwell, who captured his first feature win, was followed to the checkers by Jarrett Alexander and Kyle Donahue. The driver on the move was Jack Dossey II who moved from the sixth starting spot to finish fourth, with passes of Walter Thomas III and Chris Hacker.

Caldwell turned a lap of 16.493-seconds to break the mark set by Alexander of 16.783-seconds set on Aug. 28, 2010.

The remaining events were postponed by rain. Those divisions not completing feature events will be running double features the next time they compete at Anderson Speedway.

On Saturday, May 21, spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.