Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

It's New Track Records at Pay Less Little 500 Pole Day; Pierce on Provisional Pole

Click to View Current Round 1 Qualifying Results


(May 26, 2011) – Ideal weather conditions combined with a softer tire compound from Hoosier Tire broke record speeds during pole day qualifying for Saturday’s 63rd running of the Pay Less Little 500 at Anderson Speedway.

Despite two rain delays on Thursday drivers found cool, cloudy skies which resulted in breaking both the one and four lap qualifying records for the Little 500, both previously set in the 1990s.

During practice Jacob Wilson turned a lap 10.929-seconds (82.34 mph), which was faster than the track record set by Bentley Warren in 1995 at 11.018-seconds (81.68 mph). Wilson’s practice run set the stage for the record breaking performance during qualifications.

Aaron Pierce shattered both the one and four lap marks on a record qualifying attempt as the 27th car out. His first lap at 10.960-seconds broke the mark set earlier by Tony Hunt for the one lap record.

With rain shortening the 120-minute qualifying, there will be 34 minutes on Friday to complete bump day qualifying.

For his record setting performance Pierce could earn $1,000 for setting new track records.

Pierce’s second lap was even quicker at 10.944-seconds (82.23 mph) and his four lap time of 44.030-seconds (81.76 mph) broke the new four-lap mark set earlier by Brian Tyler. It’s Pierce’s second pole, he started from the point in 2006.

Tony Hunt broke the existing one-lap track record with a lap at 10.973 seconds (82.01 mph) to shatter the mark set by Bentley Warren in 1995 at 11.018 seconds (81.68 mph). Hunt became the first driver in the history of the Little 500 to turn a lap under 11-seconds.

Hunt’s claim to the pole position lasted only through six qualifying attempts when 2006 Little 500 champion Brian Tyler turned four laps at 44.210 seconds (81.43 mph) to break the record set in 1998 by Gary Fedewa at 44.262 seconds (81.33 mph).

Tyler is driving for locally owned Contos Racing, is currently second and his teammate, Shane Cottle, the 2008 race winner, qualified 14th at 79.52 mph.

Before the day was through a total of four drivers turned a lap under the 11-second mark. JoJo Helberg joined the 10-second club with a lap 10.966-seconds.

Donnie Adams Jr., who captured the pole in 2007, battled an ill running car in two qualifying attempts, ending up with the slowest time of the day.

The qualifying session was cut short by rain with 34 minutes remaining. The remainder of that time will be completed today before the two-hour bump day qualifying will begin.

Admission is free to watch the remainder of the 63rd Annual Pay Less Little 500 first round qualifications on Friday along with Bump Day on Friday.

On Saturday, the 63rd Pay Less Little 500 goes green approximately at 8 p.m.

Tickets are available for the historic 63rd Pay Less Little 500 at $28 for reserved seating. For more information, contact the Anderson Speedway Ticket Office at (765) 642-0206.