Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Armstrong, Bean, Edsall Score Victories

(June 3, 2011) – New Castle’s Dalton Armstrong scored the win at Anderson Speedway in the United States Speed Association midget feature Friday when leader Tate Martz spun with three laps remaining.

Martz, using a newly sanctioned midget engine, was able to pull away from Dalton Armstrong at the start and on two restarts.

Although Armstrong could keep Martz in sight, he could never mount a challenge. Over the final 15 laps Martz was losing the grip on the rear tires, but he refused to give up the low line. Armstrong never looked to the high side.

Things took a dramatic change on the 47th lap, Martz spun in turn four, which gave the lead and the win to Armstrong. The caution flag waved on lap 48 when the car of Jimmy Simpson jumped out of gear and Kyle O’Gara went into the pits.

That gave Martz a chance to record the win as he started third on the final restart. Martz got underneath Travis Young on the back straight. But Travis regained the spot at the checkered flag.

Fast qualifier Mario Marietta was battling with Travis Young for the third position when he climbed over Young’s left rear tire and spun in turn two, ending his night.

Jessica Bean led the entire distance to win the Kenyon Midget feature but was pressed the entire distance by Kyle Tilley, who closed over the final ten laps of the event. Cordy Horn ran a close third.

It was Bean’s first career win with the Kenyon Midget series.
Issac Chapple made contact with the front straight and turn one wall on the eleventh circuit, with some help from fast qualifier Justin Peck. Chapple’s night was ended, with Peck sent to the rear of the field.

Peck climbed back toward the front, but on lap 26 jumped the wheel of Horn on the back straight while the two drivers were battling for the third position. Peck went high through turn three and lost two positions and never recovered.

James Edsall III continued his winning ways in the Thunder Roadster division at Anderson Speedway by capturing the 40-lap feature.

Edsall got inside of early leader Al Renner entering turn four on the seventh lap and was never seriously challenged for the win.

Doug Dugger got inside of Renner entering turn three on the 18 th lap to claim the second spot followed by Renner.

Aaron Holden broke a suspension part going down the back straight with seven laps remaining while running a comfortable fourth.

On the final restart, Dugger tried to mount a challenge on Edsall for the top spot but came up .275-seconds short. Renner finished third followed by Tony Holden and Darrell Brown.

There was good side by side racing through the middle stages of the feature event for the fifth position between Holden, Brown and Marty Griffin, with the three drivers swapping positions several times.