Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Poore Continues Winning Ways, Warner Gets Thrilling Figure 8 Victory

(June 17, 2011) – Anderson driver Josh Poore continued his domination of the EDCO Welding Street Stock division with his eighth consecutive win Friday at Anderson Speedway.

Poore recorded his third win of the 2011 season and captured the last five feature wins of 2010. For good measure Poore also won a Champion Racing Association Street Stock feature at Anderson.

He jumped into the lead and held off Josh Myers on two restarts to record the win. Rob Allman used the outside line early in the race to move into sixth and then climbed into the top five with 12 laps remaining when Rob Wyman Jr. got loose coming off turn four.

Allman passed Tyler Marsh with an inside move on lap 11 and then moved into third on lap 15 with an outside pass of Rickie Tharp in turn three. Allman challenged Myers for the second spot on the final restart, but was unable to complete the pass.

Poore was followed to the checkers by Myers, Allman, Tharp and Wyman.

There was a classic battle for the win in the Figure-8 division with Josh Tharp, Nick Warner and Curtis Chapman running nose to tail for the first 12 laps.

Warner attempted several times to get around Tharp with Chapman lurking waiting for one of the two leaders to make a mistake. Finally on lap 13 Warner got inside of Tharp entering turn three and Chapman grabbed the second spot with a pass on the back straight.

Warner and Chapman continued to race in lock-step for the final eight laps following a spin by Ronnie Phipps in the crossover. Chapman got along side of Warner on the outside entering turn three, but Warner maintained the low side.

The tight racing continued on the final lap when Warner got loose in turn one and went up toward the outside wall and when he came back down the track, nudged Chapman high in turn two.

Warner recorded a close win over Chapman followed by Tharp, Phipps and James Peterson.

“We’ve been coming up a little short every week,” Warner said after the win. “I didn’t expect that to happen on the final lap. Everyone is driving at a different level this year.”

The only thing that slowed down Jeff Williams in the Front Wheel Drive oval division on the way to the checkered flag was a caution on lap 14.

Williams jumped into the lead at the start and pulled away from Ron Phipps and Kevin Henson.

On the 14th circuit the car of James Frawley dropped fluid on the track down the back straight and into turn three, that collected the cars of Jerry Dane and Kevin Henson. Both Dane and Henson made contact with the turn three outside retaining wall.
On the restart Williams again pulled away from Phipps to win by 4..775 seconds with Sean Bragg finishing third.

Chris Teepe continued his dominance in the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 Division taking the lead at the start and never facing a serious challenge from his competitors.

Following Teepe at the finish was Bruce McFall, Mike Alley, Donnie Ellis Jr. and Elliott McKinney. McKinney suffered a flat tire while running third with three laps remaining and dropped to fifth.

Teepe has won four of the five feature events this season.

Ivy Tech Night at the Races is scheduled for Saturday night starting at 8 p.m. with the HOSS Winged Sprints headlining the racing card which includes the Anderson Late Models, Legends, WMDH Thunder Cars and Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 division.