Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

EDCO Welding CRA Street Stocks, Figure 8's and Front Wheel Drives Oval on Saturday

(June 23, 2011) – Racing action returns to the high-banked quarter-mile oval of Anderson Speedway on Saturday, June 25 with the ABATE Night at the Races. The program will showcase the EDCO Welding CRA Street Stocks in a 75-lap main event along with Figure 8’s and Front Wheel Drives Oval.

This will be the fifth event of the season for the EDCO Welding CRA Street Stocks. Chad Poorman scored the season opening checkered flag at Plymouth Speedway. Josh Poore won the second event of the season at Anderson Speedway with Brian Hopkins capturing the victory at Baer Field Speedway. The most recent winner is Frank Kimmell II at Lucas Oil Raceway on June 12.

Poore has been on a roll at Anderson Speedway in EDCO Welding Street Stock competition with eight straight wins in the division, including three this season and the last five events of the 2010 season. Poore is leading the Anderson Speedway Street Stock points standings with his three wins in 2011. Josh Myers is second with Rob Allman in third.

CRA veteran racer Jeff Lane is the points leader in the EDCO Welding CRA Street Stocks heading into Saturday night’s event. Lane holds a 27 point lead over Poore for veteran car owner Danny Acrey. Lane has yet to score his first series win of the 2011 season, but has finished third, fourth, fifth and sixth in the four series events so far this season and has been the Allstar Performance Fast Qualifier in three of the four events. The Steve Davis owned number 21 car is third in points. Rookie J.J. Schafer is fourth in series points, while Brian Hopkins is in fifth place.

Curtis Chapman and Nick Warner have continued their battle in the Figure 8 division. Warner earned a thrilling victory last Friday and closed the gap on Chapman to 14 points in the season standings. Josh Tharp ranks third with James Peterson listed fourth and veteran Bruce McFall completing the top five.

In the Front Wheel Drive Oval division, Jeff Williams remains undefeated with scoring his sixth consecutive feature victory to open up the 2011 season. Second position in the standings is Ron Phipps with Marshall Clark in third spot. Trevin Henson and Sean Bragg complete the top five.

On Saturday, June 25, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing program at 8. Adult admission is $10 for adults with kids ages 6-12 admitted for $4. Children five and under get in free.