Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Dane Sweeps FWD Oval Action; Trevin Henson Scores Heat Win

(June 25, 2011) – For most of the 2011 season Jeff Williams has dominated Front Wheel Drive oval action, but last Saturday a returning driver mounted a challenge.

Jerry Dane, who raced with the Mad Cow Racing team in the past, set fast time during Herald Bulletin qualifying, captured a heat win and when Williams experienced some ill fortune, went on to the feature victory.

Williams was slated to start on the front row for the feature event, but twice pulled away from the pack, bringing out the caution flag for a restart. After two aborted starts, Williams was sent to the tail of the field.

Before a lap could be completed the caution flag waved for debris on the track, but not before Williams tangled with another car which resulted in a flat left front tire. After speeding in the pit area, Williams was not allowed to return to competition.

Dane took the lead from the start turning back an early challenge from Ron Phipps. Dane survived a restart on lap four for debris on the track and pulled away to win by 6.794 seconds over Phipps, Todd Yarberry came home third followed by Kevin Harmon and Ryan Claborn.

In the first of two heat races, Ron Phipps took the early lead chased by Dane, who was able to make an inside pass entering the third corner. Williams used a similar move on Phipps on the next circuit, but was unable to close on Dane.

Following Dane and Williams to the checkers were Phipps, Yarberry and Jared Keller.Trevin Henson grabbed the early lead in the second heat race following a spin on the opening lap by Zachary Kendall and Michelle Cutsinger. But it was a close race for the point with Kevin Henson. Kevin was able to take the lead on the second lap with a pass coming off the second corner.

The two Henson’s split the lapped car of Kenny Galbreath going down the back straight on the fourth circuit with Trevin Henson using the low line in turn three to take command of the race. For Trevin it marked his third heat win of the year. He was followed by Kevin Henson and Kendall recovered to finish third with Kyle Keach and Harry Schultz rounding out the top five.