Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Dossey Wins Outlaw Figure 8 Feature; Chapman, Ellis, Warner Also Victorious During Marsh Figure 8 Madness

(July 4, 2011) – It took Jack Dossey Jr. more than half of the International Outlaw Figure-8 Series feature to grab the lead, but once he did the victory belonged to him.

Dossey survived a race of attrition that saw only eight of the 22 cars that started the 50-lap feature still running at the finish on Marsh Figure 8 Madness at Anderson Speedway on Monday.

Ben Tunney took the early lead from the front row, but it only took Herald Bulletin fast qualifier Charlie Hargraves to take the lead on lap four. Dossey climbed from the seventh starting position to second after 20 laps. On the 27th circuit, Dossey got outside of Hargraves on the back straight to take the lead.

Dossey had to hold onto the lead for three restarts and a late charge by Hargraves to win by 1.7 seconds. Bruce Tunney finished third followed by Gary Bedell and Chris Green.

Dossey said Hargraves got caught behind a slower car and that took away his line and allowed him to make the pass.

Three of the six cautions were caused by action in the cross-over which came hot and heavy from the start.

On the second lap Josh Tharp and Mark Alderson battled in the cross-over. Action at the “x” took out the third place running car of Ben Tunney when he got together with Jeff Swinford.

The final incident at the “x” involved the cars of Jeff Hizer and Austin Tunney. Tunney was able to continue.

For the second time in three Figure-8 events for the Anderson Speedway division, Curtis Chapman and Nick Warner battled nose to tail for 25 laps for the win.

The last time it was Warner scoring the win, but on Monday it was Chapman that led from start to finish for the victory. For the entire distance Warner was looking for a way to get around Chapman for the lead.

No matter what Warner did, Chapman wouldn’t give up the preferred line. The pair was followed by Larry Swinford, Jeff Swinford and Josh Tharp.

Donnie Ellis Jr. used the inside line down the back straight to pass Mike Alley with eight laps remaining to capture the IOFS Front Wheel Drive feature.

Ellis was followed to the checkers by fast qualifier Rickie Tharp, Alley, Elliott McKinney and Chris Teepe.

Nick Warner earned the victory in the 10-lap Culver’s Trailer Race finishing ahead of George Shield and Anthony Baker.