Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Presented by GM Performance Parts Set to Debut

EDCO Welding Street Stocks, WMDH ThunderCars, Front Wheel Drives and Mini Cups Also Part of the Racing Lineup

(July 6, 2011) – The JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour will head back to Anderson Speedway this Saturday, July 9th for the completion of their event that was postponed on June 4th when a huge storm roared into Anderson just after qualifying for the event was completed.

The starting field for the 19 cars on hand for the June 4th event will be used for this weekend’s event. There are still five open positions for the event, those will be determined by qualifying for any new teams that show up for the event on Saturday.

Saturday’s event will be the fourth event of the weather plagued inaugural season for the crate motor late model series. The famous high-banked quarter mile racetrack located in Anderson, Indiana has hosted more CRA events than any other track since CRA’s first ever event on Saturday, April 26, 1997, the inaugural event for the CRA Super Series.

Minnesota native Trent Snyder was the Keyser Manufacturing fast Qualifier on June 4th, he drew a six for the inverted start which will place Ontario, Canada native Cole Powell on the pole for Saturday’s Anderson 100 Presented by Cromwell, Indiana’s Justin Matson will start on the outside of row one, fellow Canadian Brandon Watson will be inside row two, South Bend Indiana native Derrick Griffin will start outside row two for the Welch and Wilson Motorsports Team. 14 year old Michigan hot shoe Erik Jones will start in the fifth position.

Veteran late model competitor Eddie Hoffman comes into Saturday night’s event as the series point’s leader after getting his first series win in the series last event on June 17th at Dixie Motor Speedway. Hoffman will have a tough challenge in trying to get another win, he will start Saturday night’s event in the 18th position after struggling in qualifying on June 4th.

Jones is second in series points followed by Chad Finley in third, Claude Plante Jr. in fourth and Brownsburg, Indiana’s Brent Downey in fifth place. The top five in points are all locked into Saturday’s feature as are top series competitors Josh Nelms, Jack Smith, Danny Jackson, Mike Kugler, Wes Griffith Jr. and Royce Mason II.

15 year old Cody Coughlin comes into Saturday night’s event as the leader in Howie Lettow Rookie of the Year Award Presented by Howe Racing points after claiming his first Howe Racing Rookie of the Race Award at Dixie with a season high fifth place finish. Jimmy Novak is second in Rookie points with Tom Woodin in third, all three drivers are scheduled to race Saturday night.

Anderson’s Josh Poore continues to pace the EDCO Welding Street Stocks with a 37 point lead over Josh Myers. Veteran campaigner Rob Allman ranks third with Randy Hoppes and first year competitor J.P. Crabtree completing the top five.

Lonny Burton sits atop a close three way battle in the WMDH ThunderCar season point standings. Hannah Lundy is second with Allman in third position.

In the Front Wheel Drive Oval division, Jeff Williams holds a 30 point lead over Ron Phipps. Other top performers this season include Marshall Clark, Zachary Kendall and Trevin Henson.

The Mini Cups will compete in a 25-lap feature as part of the action-packed racing lineup on Saturday night.

On Saturday, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $13 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.