Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Snyder Wins JEGS/CRA All-Stars Event; Tharp, Lundy, Williams and Ensor Also Record Wins

(July 9, 2011) – Trent Snyder used an inside move with 67 laps remaining to grab the lead from Derrick Griffin and went on to win the first visit of the Champion Racing Association JEGS All Stars Tour at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Pole sitter and fast qualifier Cole Powell led the first 27 laps before he was passed by Griffin, who used an outside move coming down the front straight.

Snyder started sixth in the 20-car field and was running fourth after 25 laps. He passed Powell on lap 30 with an outside move going down the back straight and set his sights on Griffin.

Brandon Watson got inside of Griffin on a restart on lap 71 entering turn one and several times closed on Synder as the leaders navigated through lapped traffic.

The race was slowed only three times by cautions over the 100-lap event with Snyder holding off Powell on the final restart.

There was plenty of side by side racing and passing throughout the field as drivers jockeyed for position.

“I’m glad to be in Anderson,” Snyder said, driving the Great Deals magazine sponsored Chevrolet. “I was fortunate to get through traffic. It’s tough to pass here.”

Snyder won by 1.2-seconds over Brandon Watson, followed by Griffin, Josh Nelms and Jack Smith. Tommy Cook who started last in the field drove to an 11th place finish.

This was the fourth different winner in four races during the first year of CRA/JEGS All Star Tour. Snyder joins Brian Campbell, James Carter and Eddie Hoffman as winners this year.

Rickie Tharp took the lead from the start and went on to a dominant win in the EDCO Welding Street Stock feature with Josh Myers running a distance second.

There was a good battle for the third position between Ron Allman and Josh Poore for much of the race with Poore finally finding a way to the inside line coming off the second corner on lap 27.

Poore, who was the Herald Bulletin fast qualifier and has dominated action this year was able to come home in third followed by Allman and Randy Hoppes.

It was Tharp’s first feature win. He has recorded a third and fourth during the year.

“I appreciate all the help from my teammate (Myers),” Tharp said of the victory.

Alexandria’s Hannah Lundy started fifth in the WMDH ThunderCar feature and moved into the top spot after seven laps with an inside pass of early leader Frankie Oakes.

Lundy was able to hold off Oakes on three restarts to record her second feature win of the season after a runner-up finish the week before.

Oakes and Ronnie Rose battled nip and tuck for the second position. Rose claimed the spot on lap 15, but two laps later got caught behind a lapped car which allowed Oakes to reclaim the position on the front straight.

After being involved in an incident on lap 11 with Travis Burge, coming off the second corner, Lonny Burton was able to just get past Shantel Banks on the inside at the checkers to finish fourth.

Illinois driver Erica Ensor set a new track record for the Mini-Cups, won her heat race and dominated the 25-lap feature to record the victory.

Ensor was trailed to the checkers by Jordan Caskey, who passed Jim Termanes with an inside move entering the third corner on the final lap. Tony Velez and Tyler Brown rounded out the fop five.

For the entire 25 laps fast qualifier Jeff Williams and second quick driver Jerry Dane staged a battle for the win in the Front Wheel Drive Oval Division.

Williams took advantage of a restart on lap nine to use the outside line to get past Dane on the back straight. The two front runners ran nose to tail the remaining distance with Williams scoring the win, followed by Dane, Todd Yarberry, Marshall Clark and Ron Phipps.

Anderson Speedway returns to action on Saturday, 16 with the EDCO Welding CRA Street Stocks showcased in the Ivy Tech 200. Other divisions in action will include Figure 8’s, Front Wheel Drives Oval and Vore’s Welding & Steel CRA FWD Compacts.