Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

EDCO Welding CRA Street Stocks Return for Ivy Tech 200; Figure 8's, Front Wheel Drives an Vore's Welding & Steel CRA FWD Compacts Also in Action

(July 11, 2011) – Anderson Speedway will return to racing action on Saturday, July 16 with the return of the EDCO Welding CRA Street Stocks featured in the Ivy Tech 200. Other divisions in action will include Figure 8’s, Front Wheel Drives along with Vore’s Welding & Steel FWD Compacts.

This will be the seventh event of the season for the EDCO Welding CRA Street Stocks. Most recent winner Jeff Lane paces the point standings with a 26 point lead over Josh Poore. Third in is the Steve Davis owned No. 21 which has utilized drivers Steve Chrisman and Ryan Amonett. Completing the top five is Mark Mason with Rich Segvich ranked sixth, just three points from the top five.

Five drivers have claimed EDCO Welding CRA Street Stock victories this season with Brian Hopkins the only repeat winner after posting wins at Baer Field and most recently Anderson. Single event winners include Chad Poorman (Plymouth), Poore (Anderson), Frank Kimmel ll (Raceway Park) and Lane (Angola).

Poore is also challenging for the Anderson Speedway championship in the EDCO Welding Street Stocks and leads the standings heading into this weekend’s action. He has posted four feature victories and six top-10 finishes in the six events to date. Josh Myers is close behind with five top-five finishes with Rob Allman solidly ranked third with five top-10 performances.

In the Figure 8 division, Curtis Chapman and Nick Warner continue to wage a superb battle with the drivers splitting the victories in four of five events held this season. Chapman holds a 44 point lead over Warner with Josh Tharp ranked in third position.

Jeff Williams paces the Front Wheel Drive Oval division with an impressive five features wins in six events. Other drivers that have put together solid seasons to date include Ron Phipps, Marshall Clark, Zachary Kendall and Trevin Henson.

The Vore’s Welding & Steel FWD Compacts will compete in a 25-lap event on Saturday night. Jeff Shlemadine leads the point standings with Rick Jones and Ryan Hoffman close behind in the season point standings.

On Saturday, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.