Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Tharp Gets EDCO Welding Street Stock Win

(July 11, 2011) – Starting from the pole position in the EDCO Welding Street Stock feature, Rickie Tharp was not going to let anything keep him from victory lane.

Tharp jumped into the lead at the start and with the race going the distance without a caution period was never seriously challenged as he won by more than 7-seconds over teammate Josh Myers.

Ronnie Rose was running second at the start but was passed by Myers on the fifth circuit entering turn one. Rob Allman and Herald Bulletin fast qualifier Josh Poore battled side by side and wheel to wheel for the third position, swapping the position on consecutive laps early in the event.

On the 13th lap both Allman and Poore were able to get underneath Rose entering turn three to each move up a position. Poore took over the third spot on lap 27 with an inside move exiting the second corner and completing the pass entering turn three.

At the checkers it was Tharp, Myers, Poore, Allman and Randy Hoppes.

Allman, Tharp and Hoppes ran nose to tail for the entire heat race, but there was plenty of action behind them.

Poore passed Rose for the fifth position on lap two on the front straight and than on consecutive laps got inside of Myers and Frankie Oakes.

Poore finished fourth followed by Oakes and Rose.

During qualifications, Poore set the fast time followed by Tyler Marsh and Oakes. Marsh experienced mechanical difficulties and couldn’t compete in the racing action.