Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

62nd Best Way Disposal National Crown and 2nd Annual McGunegill Engine Performance 100 Set for Saturday

(July 20, 2011) – The longest continuous stock car race will be contested at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, July 23, when the 62nd Best Way Disposal National Crown will showcase the competitors from the Figure 8 division. The racing program will also include appearances from Front Wheel Drive Oval Division and the Sullivan RV CRA Late Model Sportsman in the McGunegill Engine Performance 100.

The Best Way Disposal National Crown is the longest running continuous stock car race in America. The winner’s list is a who’s who of Figure 8 racing. Last year, Curtis Chapman earned his second victory in the historic event. Recent winners of the National Crown include Curtis Chapman (2010, 2001) Nick Warner (2008), Rob Allman (2006) Mike Riddle Jr. (2005), Ronnie Rose (2004), Ronnie Phipps (1998, 2003), and Mark Goettman (2002).

Chapman sits atop the Figure 8 point standings on the strength of three feature wins this season including six top-five performances. Most recent winner Josh Tharp ranks in the runner-up position with James Peterson, Larry Swinford and Nick Warner rounding out the top five.

The Sullivan RV CRA Late Model Sportsman Series will head back to Anderson Speedway for its longest event of the season, the McGunegill Engine Performance 100. Saturday’s event comes at the halfway point of the 2011 season for the series and is the third of four series events that will take place at the high-banked quarter-mile oval.

Jason Atkinson’s amazing first half performance during the 2011 season has solidly placed him into the series points lead. Atkinson has three wins including the season opener at Plymouth Speedway, the series second Anderson event of the season and came from his 16th place starting position to get the win at Angola Motor Speedway. To add to that Atkinson has finished second in the three other events.

During any normal season second place in points Keith Sterkowitz would probably be in first place in series points, except for the 2011 season that Atkinson has had so far. Sterkowitz, the 2006 series Champion, is currently 62 points behind Atkinson. Sterkowitz has two victories so far this season, one at the first Anderson series event of the season and at the series last event at M-40 Speedway. He finished second to Atkinson at the second Anderson series event of the season.

Two-time defending series champion Charlie Hanna is currently third in series points. He is 13 points behind Sterkowitz. Hanna is still seeking his first win of the season, but has two third place finishes and one Allstar Performance Fast Qualifier Award to his credit so far this season. Hanna is tied with Atkinson and Al Cook Jr. for the most series victories at Anderson Speedway with two apiece.

Mark Lambert comes in to Saturday night’s race in fourth place in series points. He is 19 points behind Hanna. Chris Parker is the series leading rookie contender in points so far, he currently sets in fifth place in points, 67 points behind Lambert. Mark Parker is currently in sixth place, only three points behind Chris Parker. Rich Segvich is seventh, Rick Sullivan eighth, Brett Robinson in ninth and David Campbell is tenth in points at the hallway mark of the 2011 season.

Saturday’s event will also include the Anderson Speedway Late Models were veteran Terry Cater sets a top the points. Cater was the winner from the back of the pack at the divisions last event on July 2nd. Randy Hoppes is currently in second place in points heading into Saturday’s event.

With the extra laps for Saturday night’s event, there has been an increase in the purse by Anderson Speedway promoter Rick Dawson. The event will pay $1200 to win, $650 for second, $500 for third, $400 for fourth and $325 for fifth place. McGunegill Engine Performance has also put up a $250 Product Certificate for the winner of the McGunegill Engine Performance 100. Yellow flag laps will count in the first 50, but no cars will lose any laps under yellow. The last 50 laps will be all green flag laps only.

Jeff Williams continues his remarkable season in the Front Wheel Drive Oval division with posting his seventh feature victory last weekend and holding a commanding lead in the point standings. Ron Phipps is second with Marshall Clark listed in the third spot. The remainder of the top five includes Zachary Kendall and Trevin Henson.

On Saturday, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.