Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Holiday Inn Express Night at the Races Set for Saturday Night

(July 26, 2011) – Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, July 30 with the Holiday Inn Express Night at the Races. Featured divisions will include EDCO Welding Street Stocks, WMDH ThunderCars, Front Wheel Drive Figure 8's and Figure 8's.

Josh Poore sits atop the EDCO Welding Street Stocks point standings after four feature victories and five top-five finishes in seven events. Six top-10 finishes have propelled Josh Myers to second in the standings with Rob Allman ranked in third position. Randy Hoppes and Frankie Oakes complete the top five.

After collecting her third feature victory of the season, Hannah Lundy moved into first position in the WMDH ThunderCars. She holds a slim four point advantage over Lonny Burton, who has produced six top-five finishes. Rob Allman is third with Ronnie Rose and Rob Noel rounding out the top five.

In the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s, Chris Teepe holds a 98 point margin over Elliott McKinney after 6 of 13 events. Teepe has six top-five finishes and four feature wins while McKinney has five top-five on his resume. Veteran Bruce McFall is third with Mike Alley in fourth and Donnie Ellis Jr. listed in fifth spot.

Curtis Chapman continues to pace the Figure 8 division with Best Way Disposal National Crown winner Josh Tharp in second position. Tharp has won two consecutive main events to close the gap on Chapman in the standings. James Peterson is third with the Larry Swinford owned car driven most recently by Shawn Cullen in fourth and Nick Warner completing the top five.

On Saturday, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.